We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy hotel, clean, quiet, convenient location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Mcmurray
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice cozy hotel, clean, quiet, convenient location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there for a couple days April 25-27, 2015.

Clean, quiet. Friendly staff, free parking, comfortable bed. If you have an allergy to feather pillows, this hotel uses only synthetic pillows throughout, which I really like.

Some rooms have a gas fireplace and kitchenette. Reasonable rates. Rates change during peak seasons. Banff is quite busy in summer time when schools are closed.

If coming to ski, winter rates may be less expensive week days as weekends are super busy. Book well in advance. If shopping for rates on the Internet, check the hotel's web site or call the hotel as you may get a better price than the big hotel discount sites.

Hotel has connections to ski shuttle buses. Skis are not allowed to be brought into hotel but lockers available in underground parking. (t is OK to bring skis to your room only if they are in a ski bag. This prevents damage to walls).

Coin-operated laundry ($3.00 per load) and free dryer on the third floor. Laundry detergent and fabric softener sheets are each available for $1.00 for a small box.

Nice restaurant and bar in hotel. I don't drink but menu looked quite nice..

There is a small in/out space in front of the hotel where you can park for 10 minutes while checking in and bringing in luggage -- very convenient.

This is my second stay over the past two years, and both stays have been very enjoyable and restful.

Room Tip: I prefer this hotel to staying further downtown as it can be too congested in summer and winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    324
    91
    31
    15
See reviews for
178
369
22
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our ski club from South Carolina, made Banff our stop for our 20 yr anniversary. We usually stay in a house through VRBO, but this time we stayed in a lodge. After checking rates and location, we picked Rundlestone, and glad we did! This place was awesome! When we arrived, we were greeted by a very nice desk clerk, who treated us like locals! ( I wish I could remember her name. Just remember she was a redhead from Australia?) We had 12 people and we split into 4 rooms. I had read reviews where people were complaining about the rooms, but I found them very roomy. Maid service cleaned everyday, and were clean when we came in from the mtn. I loved the close proximity to town and the view of the mtn is breathtaking! This place will make you think you are in a lodge and not a hotel. If I had one complaint, it would be the choice of TV shows are awful! But that is a minor detail! Hats off to the Rundlestone for making our trip great!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Weird décor in the lobby, breakfast not included, very bad WiFi. The rest was very decent. Good size rooms, good beds, fairly close to city centre, free parking. I would probably try different hotel next time just to try something new

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Rundlestone lodge is very well kept and clean. Housekeeping is Top-notch. There's plenty of underground parking, heated too! The food at "Bumpers" was great too, but a bit pricey.

Thanks Guys :) !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the lodge. There were cement trucks rolling by before 7:00 a.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time staying here. Room was nice with s comfortable bed.
I was surprised at the gym. It has a Life force cable tower and a short weight rack. I workout everyday at how and am always skeptical of the gym at any hotel I will stay at. I was able to get my full workout in. Was very happy about that. They have the usual treadmill and elliptical and bicycle.
There is a nice pool and Hot tub. Also a decent restaurant on site.
I will stay here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked on expedia and found ourselves in a room directly across from second floor pool - and its air vent. The room was lovely and had obviously been recently renovated, but the smell of chlorine was overwhelming. A trip to the desk resulted in an immediate offer to change our room and to upgrade us to one of the 2-floor loft rooms with mountain view. Much appreciated! One quibble - why does it seem that if one books through a service, one often gets assigned to a less desirable room? The price we paid at this hotel seemed to be their standard rate.

Room Tip: Don,t accept the room on the second floor right across from the entrance to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the family suite and it was absolutely ideal. Two big ensuite bedrooms, with very comfortable (big!) beds, which was just what was needed after busy days doing all the exciting things that Banff offers. The living area was big and comfortable, with a good sized kitchen. However, do people not really cook in Canada?! There was a lack of utensils and oven dishes...

Other plus points: friendly, polite and professional staff; a decent enough gym; free DVD hire; free parking.

So pleased we booked the Rundlestone for our stay in Banff.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.