We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend Rundlestone Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bonnie Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend Rundlestone Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

My partner and I had planned our trip to Calgary as my brother and his wife have now emigrated and we thought we would amalgamate our annual ski holiday with visiting them as well. As Calgary is a good hour and a half drive to Banff we thought we would book a place in Banff to stay for over a week. After reviewing trip advisor on several hotels in Banff we finally booked the Rundlestone lodge. We are so glad we did, first impressions of the outside, looked great! First impression on the inside, very cosy and welcoming. We were kindly greeted by an English gentleman (well young man) who checked us in, we were advised we were not allowed our ski's and board in the room which was fair enough however the lodge has lockers to allow us to safely lock our gear up over night. This was good as it decluttered our room.

We were in room 268 which was huge!! We had 2 Queen beds which were perfect as my brother and his wife were joining us at the weekend; we were also given a cot bed as my partner’s friend also joined us. The decor of the room was not to my taste however it was extremely cosy and comfortable and it had everything we needed, plenty of towels, blankets, pillows, tea and coffee facilities and toiletries.

Breakfast was great, because we were skiing we had cereal and toast most mornings apart from the weekend we had a hot breakfast (we must say the egg Benedict and scrambled eggs with cheese, was awful, we really want to forget about the taste, we didn’t want to make a fuss as everything else was superb) The staff in the morning were very friendly and always happy to offer us more coffee and endless glasses of orange juice.

In the evening we utilised the pool and hot tub and it was GREAT!!! It eased our aches and pains from the skiing during the day! The poolside was very tranquil and very relaxing; the gym was also fully equipped with anyone’s needs!

We walked into town a few times which only took us 15 mins (depending how far we walked) however the days we didn’t walk (or when I couldn’t be bothered) the two young girls in the front desk were happy to book us a restaurant and a taxi.

The only negative thing we can say about the hotel was the restaurant is in a desperate need of a makeover, we didn’t eat dinner in the hotel so we cannot comment on the evening meals, but certainly the place needs an upgrade.

On the valentines weekend when my family arrived and my other halves friend arrived we were greeted by the friendliest bar man ever James, he was always happy to help and offered us any type of cocktail in the world haha! It was great! There was another young gentleman who didn’t give us his name but he worked in the bar at night as well as breakfast in the morning and he was very very friendly as well.

All in all the rundlestone is extremely comfortable and well worth the money!! I would recommend anyone to stay here as it was great value for money and the staff really looked after us bunch of Scots!!

Thank you Rundlestone for a pleasant stay, could you maybe make some more snow for us for next year!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    318
    91
    31
    15
See reviews for
177
366
20
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We stayed at the rundlestone lodge recently as part of our ski ing trip, the location of the hotel is slightly out the way of the main shopping area but is walkable (however during winter months wrap up warm!!!) on the plus side the ski bus stops over at the inns of bnff hotel which is literally a stones throw away.Overall we had a fantastic stay at the hotel all the staff from the cleaning team to reception and dining were all wonderfull, they were so helpfull, the fitness centre and pool/jacuzzi were very clean and very warm, the hotel offers fantastic value for money, and the jack pine restaurant has to be by far the best meals we had eaten in the whole of banff.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

stayed here feb 6-8 for the weekend,upon arrival i was immediatly upgraded to a suite(room 316) instead of the double room i reserved at no extra cost,with a loft and 1 queen and 1 king bed downstairs,loft with its own 1/2 bathrooms and tv were extremely clean and spacious,staff was very friendly,only dissapointment was no breakfast service in the dining room..underground parking very clean and secure,gym,pool and jacuzzi....i researched hotels months in advance to making reservations and this is a very good deal... will definatly be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

Very hospital and accommodatiing staff...and the food was exceptional. The nights were cool enough to enjoy the gas fireplace in a comfortable setting with a full compliment of cable tv stations.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

Hello:

My girl friend and I stayed at your lodge for a period of 3 weeks, we chose your establishment because it was reasonably priced and had a appealling look from your pictures.

There was great service from all the employees with one that had excellent service. The barman James made us feel at home. Not only was he extremely knowlegeable with the menu and the bar. He gave us information on all sorts of activities. Including the Dog sledding which we found extremely fun, and a little cold. We enjoyed talking with him very much.

What we were shocked to see was he was the only one that could speak fluent english. The other servers treated us well and we enjoyed the company. Although we did find it a little uncomfortable when they would speak there own language while serving. Not sure if they were talking about us or not. It made us feel very uncomfortable.

James gave us great service and made us feel like royalty. Thank you for suggesting the movie.

If anyone gets the chance to stay at the rundlestone, James makes excellent martini's

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandalloyd
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

I stayed here shortly after Christmas with a few friends, and it was ridiculous. Upon check in, the front desk was wasn't rude, but not welcoming either. We checked into the room, which had a view of the adjacent hotel a few metres away, and limited sunlight exposure to a room that was dark to begin with (decor had lots of rich colors which still managed to be outdated). It was a small room for 4 people, and we didn't have enough toiletries or towels to accommodate all of us. We ate at the restaurant, which in hindsight was our mistake, since there was no one in there during our 3 day stay, and now I know why. My steak tasted like it has been boiled, the potatoes were cold and we could all overhear the service staff gossiping through the kitchen doors. My friends were all dissatisfied with their meals as well, especially because of the price paid ($30ish)

The stay wasn't tcompletely errible, but in comparison to other 4 star hotels, this one felt like a 3 star at best. It feels like the hotel is on the decline; it lacked activity and attention to detail. We paid for this hotel because we wanted to feel luxurious but ended up feeling ripped off.

  • Liked — the pool area was very nice
  • Disliked — the food is memorable for how awful it was
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasmineRundlestone, Front Desk Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2009
Please let me begin by offering my apologies for your dissatisfaction with our hotel. It is never nice to hear that one of our guests left with anything but a good impression. We would have liked the chance to change your room for you if we had been notified that you were unhappy. The Rundlestone Lodge definitely lives up to the Lodge style; we have a cozy décor that many of our guests compliment us on and we are sorry to hear that it was not your preference.

Sincerely,

Jasmine Baronette
Front Desk Manager
The Rundlestone Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Stayed for two weeks through Xmas. Fantastic time skiing and around banff area.

Hotel spotless, staff excellent.

Breakfast buffet really good - never ate in Bistro at night as it lacked a bit of atmosphere.

Lounge area OK and good snacks - but bar closed a bit early, suppose no one drinking heavily though.

Pool area great but Jaccuzzi was over chlorinated and set your skin on edge!

Booked jaccuzzi room with open fire and this was great - only problem was noisy air heating system, but preferred log fire anyway.

Overall a great stay and fantastic skiing

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Heating system noisy
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.