We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best deal in Banff.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best deal in Banff.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

stayed here feb 6-8 for the weekend,upon arrival i was immediatly upgraded to a suite(room 316) instead of the double room i reserved at no extra cost,with a loft and 1 queen and 1 king bed downstairs,loft with its own 1/2 bathrooms and tv were extremely clean and spacious,staff was very friendly,only dissapointment was no breakfast service in the dining room..underground parking very clean and secure,gym,pool and jacuzzi....i researched hotels months in advance to making reservations and this is a very good deal... will definatly be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    324
    91
    31
    15
See reviews for
178
369
22
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

Very hospital and accommodatiing staff...and the food was exceptional. The nights were cool enough to enjoy the gas fireplace in a comfortable setting with a full compliment of cable tv stations.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

Hello:

My girl friend and I stayed at your lodge for a period of 3 weeks, we chose your establishment because it was reasonably priced and had a appealling look from your pictures.

There was great service from all the employees with one that had excellent service. The barman James made us feel at home. Not only was he extremely knowlegeable with the menu and the bar. He gave us information on all sorts of activities. Including the Dog sledding which we found extremely fun, and a little cold. We enjoyed talking with him very much.

What we were shocked to see was he was the only one that could speak fluent english. The other servers treated us well and we enjoyed the company. Although we did find it a little uncomfortable when they would speak there own language while serving. Not sure if they were talking about us or not. It made us feel very uncomfortable.

James gave us great service and made us feel like royalty. Thank you for suggesting the movie.

If anyone gets the chance to stay at the rundlestone, James makes excellent martini's

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandalloyd
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

I stayed here shortly after Christmas with a few friends, and it was ridiculous. Upon check in, the front desk was wasn't rude, but not welcoming either. We checked into the room, which had a view of the adjacent hotel a few metres away, and limited sunlight exposure to a room that was dark to begin with (decor had lots of rich colors which still managed to be outdated). It was a small room for 4 people, and we didn't have enough toiletries or towels to accommodate all of us. We ate at the restaurant, which in hindsight was our mistake, since there was no one in there during our 3 day stay, and now I know why. My steak tasted like it has been boiled, the potatoes were cold and we could all overhear the service staff gossiping through the kitchen doors. My friends were all dissatisfied with their meals as well, especially because of the price paid ($30ish)

The stay wasn't tcompletely errible, but in comparison to other 4 star hotels, this one felt like a 3 star at best. It feels like the hotel is on the decline; it lacked activity and attention to detail. We paid for this hotel because we wanted to feel luxurious but ended up feeling ripped off.

  • Liked — the pool area was very nice
  • Disliked — the food is memorable for how awful it was
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasmineRundlestone, Front Desk Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2009
Please let me begin by offering my apologies for your dissatisfaction with our hotel. It is never nice to hear that one of our guests left with anything but a good impression. We would have liked the chance to change your room for you if we had been notified that you were unhappy. The Rundlestone Lodge definitely lives up to the Lodge style; we have a cozy décor that many of our guests compliment us on and we are sorry to hear that it was not your preference.

Sincerely,

Jasmine Baronette
Front Desk Manager
The Rundlestone Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Stayed for two weeks through Xmas. Fantastic time skiing and around banff area.

Hotel spotless, staff excellent.

Breakfast buffet really good - never ate in Bistro at night as it lacked a bit of atmosphere.

Lounge area OK and good snacks - but bar closed a bit early, suppose no one drinking heavily though.

Pool area great but Jaccuzzi was over chlorinated and set your skin on edge!

Booked jaccuzzi room with open fire and this was great - only problem was noisy air heating system, but preferred log fire anyway.

Overall a great stay and fantastic skiing

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Heating system noisy
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

The hotel was great. We had a really big room, very comfy beds and really clean - and with a view of Tunnel Mountain and the top of Sulphur Mountain. The pool and jacuzzi are lovely, but the gym is very small - four people and all the equipment is taken!

The restaurant is only average and we ate out most evenings - or ordered takeaway. They'll deliver direct to your room from virtually any restaurant in town, which is worth remembering!

The staff were really friendly and very accomodating. The lounge areas are nice and relaxing - the kind of place you could have a drink with friends or curl up by yourself with a book.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the main part of Banff - straight down Banff Avenue. Alternatively, a cab will cost about $6 and they arrive within minutes of you booking it. If you want to be right in town, Brewsters is just off the main street, but I don't know what it's like - just thought i'd mention it!

For the price (we paid about $150 a night) it is really good value for money and i'd recommend it.

  • Liked — Friendly feel
  • Disliked — Walk into town
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton,alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

My husband and i stayed here for two nights. We had our room booked 2 weeks in advance- a deluxe jaccuzi suite with a fire place. When we arrived it was a couple of blocks further from "the center" of Banff than we had thought, but that was ok because the cab drivers are very friendly and it only costs about $5. We were about an hour early but our room was ready and they let us right up. Very nice room, but could use a little updating. The room was not huge but the vaulted wood ceilings and large window helped a great deal. The bed was very comfortable and the tub was great! Plenty of room for our clothes, but maybe not if you are going for longer than a weekend. It was very clean from the floor to the sheets. They also provide two terry cloth robes. The restaurant was nothing fancy but it was clean and quaint. We had a nice dinner there. Never tried the breakfast. Pool and hot tub area very nice. As well as the lobby area. The underground parking was a little small, especially since we drive a grand caravan. The staff were all very nice and helpful. We did not come across any staff who could not speak english so there were no issues. Overall a fantastic stay.

  • Liked — the cozy feel
  • Disliked — the restaurant didnt serve lunch
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.