We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice friendly hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights with the wife in late July. Nice friendly hotel with good facilities. They have free bikes which is a bonus as bikes are expensive to hire in Banff approx $40 per day.

I would say it's about 20/25 minutes walk into town.

Would stay there again

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    318
    91
    31
    15
See reviews for
177
366
20
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed for a night in the jacuzzi loft suite in july. Staff was very friendly and helpful, we really enjoyed taking the bikes into town and being able to leave the car in the underground parking. Room was nice, we enjoyed the jacuzzi with a bar fridge beside. Saw some reviews that its a bit far from town but we walked to and from downtown at night time and it didn't take long at all...maybe 10 minutes. Did find room to be a little pricey for one night but we did enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in June on the last week of our honeymoon. Right from the first contact we found the staff to be top quality, and certainly helped us decide where to stay in Banff. We booked into a Rundle Jacuzzi Loft suite, and it was absolutely glorious! The bed and seating were very comfortable and clean, the Jacuzzi was fantastic, such a treat! The staff on reception and in the bar/restaurant were very polite and friendly, and again helpful, and one in particular really put a smile on our faces whenever we had dealings with her (sorry, forget her name, but she was from Lithuania and had long dark hair!). The facilities are great, gym ,swimming pool, laundry room, free DVDs and computers in the lobby. You can even have the use of push-bikes for a few hours, free of charge! As far as criticisms go, there were a couple of minor ones. The toilets didn't flush very well, couple of times they needed a good few goes before they had cleared, and I did hear another patron mention this at the front desk so it wasn't just our room (or me!). It's also at the far end of town, which is fine if you don't mind the 10 minute walk in and like the relative peace and quiet this provides, but if you absolutely needed to be closer to the centre then perhaps a touch distant. The TVs were a bit annoying too, having a 100+ channels but only 20 or so could actually be watched (but who goes to Banff for the TV, right?). Having said that, we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, and would highly recommend the Rundlestone Lodge to anyone! Oh, and definitely exceptionally good value for money, mustn't forget that!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Located on the edge of town but an easy ride in on the lodges bicycles or short drive. Extremely well maintained clean and well appointed. Great pool and terrace area and a coin laundry with free drying - super option summer or winter!!

We were concerned that it was an older property but it soon went away when we saw how well the place has been maintained compared to our previous experience at Emerald Lake Lodge

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

At the last minute we decided to stay in Banff instead of Calgary the night before our flight home. The hotel is north of town, a long walk, but also more quiet than the Center. Room was nice, clean, small fridge and parking helpful. We were on 1st floor so had no view. Which is too bad for such a beautiful town. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors might have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were initially planning on staying for only one night because we hadn't found any availability here for a second night on our booking website. Upon check-in, the friendly staff person not only found us a room, but also saved us 50% of the cost by suggesting we could stay in a a suite with two private rooms and a shared washroom. This was perfect for our group of 4 people. We very much enjoyed our stay! We would definitely stay here again!

My only suggestion would be to have milk or cream available in the rooms, as opposed to coffee whitener.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent four nights there recently and hand a king loft. We really enjoyed the stay. The room was pleasant and clean with a small kitchenette.

The only negative is the location. It is on the far north end of town, so really not conducive to walking. The hotel did have bikes available. Parking was sufficient and free. The staff were helpful and attentive.

If I were to stay there again, I would avoid the loft as the bathroom is on the lower floor with quite a few stairs.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.