We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Relief” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Welcome Relief”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

July 09m 2014, after 8 long hot hours in the saddle, I was ready for some relief and relaxation. Motorcycle riding wears a rider out, especially in the 30 C. heat. I was pleasantly surprised to find the Rundlestone so welcoming. There was underground secure parking as well. Attached to the hotel is the Bumpers Beef House restaurant (see my review). Just a block away is a Keg & Cleaver if you want beef. The hotel is on the quiet end of the main street and only a few minutes walk form all the tourist action, no need to take the car/motorcycle out once it is parked for the night.

Staff at the front desk were professional and efficient booking me in. The room was facing the street/mountains with soaring 11 foot ceilings, and equally large windows rising from the floor to ceiling peaking at the top of the "A" frame (3rd. floor room). I tried to book directly with the hotel but no rooms were available other than the Bridal Suite, which somehow, didn't seem right for me. I booked on line with one of the hotel.com services and was surprised to find a $375/night room going for $199. I grabbed it and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Yes, I would stay again...

Room Tip: Face the front as the street scene is very quiet, and go for the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    352
    104
    33
    16
See reviews for
207
412
24
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has everything. Good rooms, comfortable beds, good views, swimming pool and hot tub, good restaurant, very friendly and helpful staff and only a 10 minute walk from Banff downtown. All facilities that you may need in the room are there. Free wi fi with good reception. If in Banff and need a good hotel then this is the one. Well worth the money.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This lodge has the most amazing views from a spacious balcony. The staff are very friendly, there was free underground parking, and the lodge (it's a very nice hotel, really - I had visions of a basic log cabin with a term like "lodge", but it's nothing like that!) is within easy walking distance of central Banff.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a front view - the road isn't very busy, but the mountain views are spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Level Contributor
223 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is one of the few hotels in Banff with central AC in the summertime. I stayed three nights while attending a conference at the Banff Centre in order to have AC and a private bath (neither was offered by my conf at the Banff Centre). My room had one king bed and a cathedral ceiling. The AC worked very well and did not blow on the bed. The room was fairly small - it would have been cramped for two people but was fine for one person. The toilet had an issue - slow leak - which I reported and was apparently fixed. There is a restaurant next door that serves a modest full buffet breakfast and is a steakhouse for dinner at night. The dinner far exceeds the breakfast.
This is not a full service hotel - there is no room service for example. But the hotel room had a safe and a reasonable gym for a mid level hotel. My bed was comfortable and the lighting in the room was excellent with many sconces with individual controls including two over the bed with their own wall switches. The decor was quite traditional. The hallways were a little dated, the room less so. Overall I was quite happy with my stay and the price I paid (around $220 CAD per night). Although it was not that hot during my stay (high 70s during the day, sunny) the buildings were warm and the AC during sleep was quite welcome. I would stay at this property again if visiting Banff in the summer. I had requested a quiet room and was facing a side street rather the main street or the pool - this worked well for me. The window in my room was operable. Overall housekeeping was OK except one strange thing - a half used bottle shampoo left in my bathroom - I did not use it and I have no idea why they left it there. They also left me a full unused bottle of shampoo. I ignored the used bottle.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Underground parking, quiet area but still within walking distance to the town, staff was great and our room was quite spacious.
They also have a restaurant on-site, swimming pool, hot tub and gym.
Had a great visit, walked to town for a bite to eat and visited the shops.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a beautiful loft room, with a nice fireplace, kitchenette and Jacuzzi. The room was clean and cozy. The balcony was small and the mount view was obscured. Would have been nice to have a blanket on the couch.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is in a good quiet location, and the price was ok for a high season, long weekend rates (I guess). We managed to get 2 rooms overlooking the pool because the other rooms were all booked up or out of our price range, -- which means no view out of the building and the rooms were very dark, even with all lights on.
We peeked into other rooms in the hotel and they were all much better than the ones we ended up in. Both of our rooms could use some extra cleaning like getting stains out of chairs and carpet.
Also, one of our rooms had still wet coffee stains and the other had sugar all over the bed. Both rooms need renovations and overall proper cleaning.
As we were leaving the hotel, I mentioned all this, and I was told that they will renovate the whole 3rd floor, soon. And they really should. But for us, it was a so-so experience.

Room Tip: Do not get any of the rooms that are overlooking the pool. Any other room would be much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.