We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodge, friendly staff, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great lodge, friendly staff, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This lodge has the most amazing views from a spacious balcony. The staff are very friendly, there was free underground parking, and the lodge (it's a very nice hotel, really - I had visions of a basic log cabin with a term like "lodge", but it's nothing like that!) is within easy walking distance of central Banff.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a front view - the road isn't very busy, but the mountain views are spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    286
    85
    31
    13
See reviews for
161
336
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southern california
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is one of the few hotels in Banff with central AC in the summertime. I stayed three nights while attending a conference at the Banff Centre in order to have AC and a private bath (neither was offered by my conf at the Banff Centre). My room had one king bed and a cathedral ceiling. The AC worked very well and did not blow on the bed. The room was fairly small - it would have been cramped for two people but was fine for one person. The toilet had an issue - slow leak - which I reported and was apparently fixed. There is a restaurant next door that serves a modest full buffet breakfast and is a steakhouse for dinner at night. The dinner far exceeds the breakfast.
This is not a full service hotel - there is no room service for example. But the hotel room had a safe and a reasonable gym for a mid level hotel. My bed was comfortable and the lighting in the room was excellent with many sconces with individual controls including two over the bed with their own wall switches. The decor was quite traditional. The hallways were a little dated, the room less so. Overall I was quite happy with my stay and the price I paid (around $220 CAD per night). Although it was not that hot during my stay (high 70s during the day, sunny) the buildings were warm and the AC during sleep was quite welcome. I would stay at this property again if visiting Banff in the summer. I had requested a quiet room and was facing a side street rather the main street or the pool - this worked well for me. The window in my room was operable. Overall housekeeping was OK except one strange thing - a half used bottle shampoo left in my bathroom - I did not use it and I have no idea why they left it there. They also left me a full unused bottle of shampoo. I ignored the used bottle.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Underground parking, quiet area but still within walking distance to the town, staff was great and our room was quite spacious.
They also have a restaurant on-site, swimming pool, hot tub and gym.
Had a great visit, walked to town for a bite to eat and visited the shops.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a beautiful loft room, with a nice fireplace, kitchenette and Jacuzzi. The room was clean and cozy. The balcony was small and the mount view was obscured. Would have been nice to have a blanket on the couch.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is in a good quiet location, and the price was ok for a high season, long weekend rates (I guess). We managed to get 2 rooms overlooking the pool because the other rooms were all booked up or out of our price range, -- which means no view out of the building and the rooms were very dark, even with all lights on.
We peeked into other rooms in the hotel and they were all much better than the ones we ended up in. Both of our rooms could use some extra cleaning like getting stains out of chairs and carpet.
Also, one of our rooms had still wet coffee stains and the other had sugar all over the bed. Both rooms need renovations and overall proper cleaning.
As we were leaving the hotel, I mentioned all this, and I was told that they will renovate the whole 3rd floor, soon. And they really should. But for us, it was a so-so experience.

Room Tip: Do not get any of the rooms that are overlooking the pool. Any other room would be much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for just one night on a weekend getaway. We selected the hotel based on price, ratings of others, and the pool and we were not disappointed. The room was very nice. There was underground parking. The pool was large, warm, and had a hot tub as well. The fitness area seemed to be a bit small, but I have seen much worse.

There is a nice restaurant in the hotel and others located nearby.

My only issue when staying here is that rather than on-line movie channels, they have DVDs you can sign out. We had to make four choices before they had one we wanted to watch....and it took about 30 minutes to get the player in the room working.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Arriving at the beginning of a months trip we were very tired from a long flight, the hotel made us welcome and the position perfect, a short walk to the supermarket and stunning views of mountains the rooms were spacious and clean and everyone so friendly. If I'm ever out here again I'd come back to rundlestone lodge. Angela Warwickshire England

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.