We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Tullibardine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was in Calgary for a conference but managed to get away for a day to Banff and it was certainly worth it. The Rundlestone had a good offer on even though they were busy, it's located on the quieter uptown area of the main road but only a 5 to 10 minute walk to everything you need in town. The hotel has a decent sized pool, rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was the best of any of the places I had stayed (although this was an additional charge). Worth getting up Sulphur Mountain and spending time up there, the views were stunning and too many people just go, take a snap and leave. Plenty of options for food in Banff and don't worry about getting the cheaper option of the Greyhound to Banff - couldn't fault it! I'd recommend anyone to a stay here...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    304
    88
    31
    13
See reviews for
166
355
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Rundlestone Lodge belongs to the same hotelfamily as the High Country Inn, Irwin's & Red Carpet Inn which are all located on Banff Ave. Rundlestone is the furthest away from Banff Centre, about a 15 minutes walk. We (2 adults) choose this one for our 5 night stay because of the great winterspecial rates.

Our room (#302) was a loft suite (1 King in main area, 1 Queen in loft, full bathroom on main floor & half bathroom in loft). With the vaulted ceiling you'll have a pretty large room! The suite has a kitchenette (small fridge, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker, 2 burner electric cooking plate). Also 2 comfortable chairs & 2 large flatscreens, both with DVD player. 2 open closet spaces. Beds are very comfortable. Individual airco. The interior is a bit dated (lots of dark brown colors) with a bit too much furniture, some modernisation could do wonders to this place.

Important to us: quiet (little or no noise from other rooms), no slamming doors etc. & black-out drapes.

Other conveniences: heated garage (a must in winter) with lockers for skies etc. (no charge). Wifi AND guestcomputers (no charge) which allow you to Skype, mail, print etc. Even an iPad available. Dvd's on loan (no charge) .. great service! Restaurant on site (didn't visit, there are also plenty of other restaurants nearby). Pool & hottub (didn't use it .. hottub was being replaced during our stay.

Front desk staf was friendly and helpful, in person as well as through email. Also tumbs up for housekeeping: very nice & friendly. All-in-all, we would gladly stay here again for a short winterbreak

Room Tip: If you find the right offer, choose a suite! Vaulted ceilings give that real 'lodge' feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Rundlestone this past weekend. Our room was very clean, comfortable and so quiet. It was my best sleep in a hotel room in a long time. We enjoyed the short 10 minute walk into downtown and the quietness that came from being away from the crowds. The heated parking garage was a nice perk. The front staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The front desk manager should get a promotion. What a great man. He helped us out so much and the hotel is in such great shape. For what we paid for in Banff, it was absolutely superb. Lovely gym and swimming pool, the Bumpers Restaurant attached was also great.

Room Tip: We had a king bed room and was very impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My reviews of this place must be getting boring. It was as good as always. The one thing I can add is that I had an amazing Bison Burger in Bumpers Restaurant, and the yam fries were yummy. The breakfast the next morning was huge--could've shared it with my travel buddy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your second review – we are always very pleased to hear such positive feedback from regular guests. We hope we continue to host you for a long time to come and will strive to live up to the high expectations you have. Next time you are with us please feel free to pop by the front desk and ask for me – it would be nice to meet you and thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

.......but at least this one is nice. (The 10% hotel tax that the town of Banff puts on hotels certainly doesn't help). We stayed at the Rundlestone for 4 days between Christmas and New Years this year. My wallet ended up being $1100.00 lighter at the end of the 4 days, but I have to say we enjoyed the hotel. The architecture is typical for Banff - high end modern mountain look. The hotel is well appointed with nice amenities such as a free heated parkade (parking garage), which is a nice feature in this climate and it even has ski lockers in the parkade. (however, they are the cheap tin variety typically found in fitness centers) The hotel provides free locks and I didn't see any lockers that had been tampered with. The pool, fitness center and hot tub are nice. The rooms are nice, quiet and the beds comfortable. One feature that is nice is that they offer free DVD movies at the front desk. Just visit the desk and choose a couple of movies if you feel like staying in that evening. The location is good, but be prepared to walk 15 minutes or so to get to the center of town- which we did numerous times. It was a nice walk and good exercise in the beautiful Banff air.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a loft room with a fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Resort is under renovations but this was on the first floor and we were on the 3rd. Very nice room, King size bed with jacuzzi and fire place. Arrived mid week so it was very quiet. The front reception was very friendly which is different from other resorts we stayed at in Banff. Restaurant (Bumpers) was a little pricey for dinner but reasonable for breakfast and drinks in the lounge. Breakfast was ok, not very hot.
We dont travel to Banff anymore as it is too expensive for what it is worth but this was one of the better visits we had

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.