We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Banff
Lacombe, Canada
1 review
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Rundlestone this past weekend. Our room was very clean, comfortable and so quiet. It was my best sleep in a hotel room in a long time. We enjoyed the short 10 minute walk into downtown and the quietness that came from being away from the crowds. The heated parking garage was a nice perk. The front staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    273
    84
    30
    13
See reviews for
156
321
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The front desk manager should get a promotion. What a great man. He helped us out so much and the hotel is in such great shape. For what we paid for in Banff, it was absolutely superb. Lovely gym and swimming pool, the Bumpers Restaurant attached was also great.

Room Tip: We had a king bed room and was very impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My reviews of this place must be getting boring. It was as good as always. The one thing I can add is that I had an amazing Bison Burger in Bumpers Restaurant, and the yam fries were yummy. The breakfast the next morning was huge--could've shared it with my travel buddy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your second review – we are always very pleased to hear such positive feedback from regular guests. We hope we continue to host you for a long time to come and will strive to live up to the high expectations you have. Next time you are with us please feel free to pop by the front desk and ask for me – it would be nice to meet you and thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

.......but at least this one is nice. (The 10% hotel tax that the town of Banff puts on hotels certainly doesn't help). We stayed at the Rundlestone for 4 days between Christmas and New Years this year. My wallet ended up being $1100.00 lighter at the end of the 4 days, but I have to say we enjoyed the hotel. The architecture is typical for Banff - high end modern mountain look. The hotel is well appointed with nice amenities such as a free heated parkade (parking garage), which is a nice feature in this climate and it even has ski lockers in the parkade. (however, they are the cheap tin variety typically found in fitness centers) The hotel provides free locks and I didn't see any lockers that had been tampered with. The pool, fitness center and hot tub are nice. The rooms are nice, quiet and the beds comfortable. One feature that is nice is that they offer free DVD movies at the front desk. Just visit the desk and choose a couple of movies if you feel like staying in that evening. The location is good, but be prepared to walk 15 minutes or so to get to the center of town- which we did numerous times. It was a nice walk and good exercise in the beautiful Banff air.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a loft room with a fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Resort is under renovations but this was on the first floor and we were on the 3rd. Very nice room, King size bed with jacuzzi and fire place. Arrived mid week so it was very quiet. The front reception was very friendly which is different from other resorts we stayed at in Banff. Restaurant (Bumpers) was a little pricey for dinner but reasonable for breakfast and drinks in the lounge. Breakfast was ok, not very hot.
We dont travel to Banff anymore as it is too expensive for what it is worth but this was one of the better visits we had

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Friendly front desk service.
Clean and well kept hotel.
Beautiful rooms, go for the hot tub! Fantastic balconies with great views of Banff.
Walking distance from downtown, but away from the noise.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spent a night here in a premium king room with my girlfriend. This hotel has underground heated parking, the entrance is tight as well as when you exit the parkade - the parkade itself is great as the last hotel we stayed at it was very congested.

Check-in went smooth and the desk agent explained all of the amenities quite nicely. Our room was 168 which was on the main floor.

The room set up was very strange, with a sink outside the washroom beside the door in. It was U shaped with the washroom in the middle. It looks like the room was repurposed into a bedroom, like an old office or meeting room. The washroom looked like a change room at a gym and it was clear with all of the handle bars that the room was also a designated handicapped room. As for amenities the room was pretty empty - there was a box of kleenex which had 2 tissues left in it and just one bar of soap to split up between the sink be the entrance and the shower in the washroom. The lighting in the room is brutal - just a few lamps scattered about and not much where the bed is.

The bed wasnt the most comfortable, and neither were the pillows - woke up with a cramp the next morning.

The hotel has a resturant in the lobby called Thumpers I think. Didnt check it out during our stay unfortunately as we had plans elsewhere - but the resturant itself looked pretty empty.

As a whole we probably wont be returning to the hotel in the future unless there is a good deal to be had - but if you are looking for a clean and quiet place at an ok price I would recommend the Rundlestone lodge.

Room Tip: Dont pick room 168 - opt for a higher floor at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. As you guessed 168 is indeed one of our designated handicapped rooms. The room itself is currently under refurbishment and will soon have entirely new décor, furniture and lighting which will address your concerns about the lighting in the room. Although it is impossible to provide mattresses which suit all guest preferences we do monitor guest feedback and regularly replace mattresses as required.

In terms of room amenities we try to keep all our rooms well stocked for guests. If at any point a guest feels they are short of anything they need we can deliver fresh supplies to the room upon request 24 hours a day at no extra charge.

We would recommend keeping an eye on the ‘Specials’ section of our website as we do frequently offer promotional rates which you may be able to take advantage of for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.