We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPENT NEW YEARS HERE, VERY NICE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“SPENT NEW YEARS HERE, VERY NICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

First off I would like to say that I find it refreshing that someone at the hotel actually reads some of these reviews. Way to go guys. Now for my review. Stayed here for 4 days leading up to new years. Found it to be very nice We stayed in a king jacuzzi suite with fireplace. Very romantic setting with sloped ceiling finished with pine. Staff were friendly and helpful. Found the hotel very quiet at night. Even on new years.The staff had put up signs reminding any would be rowdys that other people were staying as well and to please be mindful. I thought that was a nice touch. Seemed to work, I never heard a sound after 1230 that night. I did have 2 small issues. First was the wood/gas fireplace, you had to keep the gas on as well as the wood to keep the flue working properly. If you turned off the gas and let just the wood burn then the smoke detector would go off. Seemed like a bit of a strange system. I would tell anyone staying there to just use the gas and forget about the wood. Anyway that's minor, just a personal preference type of thing. 2nd thing was I had asked for a wake up call one morning and never got it. Also minor. But otherwise me and my wife really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return or to recommend it to someone else.

Room Tip: try king Jacuzzi suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Jacuzzi Suites certainly are one of our most popular room styles!

As you mention it is important when using our fireplaces to keep the gas burning whilst wood is on the fire. With the cold and sometimes windy conditions outside the gas helps to heat the cold air which can sit in the flue and cause a back-draft.

I am very sorry to hear you did not receive a wake up call one morning. We appreciate how important wake up calls are for guests and do have a system in place for staff to double check any that have been requested. I sincerely hope our omission on this occasion did not inconvenience you too much.

As we strive to provide the best service we can for our guests, it is always nice to receive comments such as yours regarding our staff; which echo our efforts to ensure all have a great, relaxing visit – thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    273
    83
    30
    13
See reviews for
156
319
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family of five for three nights. First impressions of room were good-it had a moderate sized living area, two large bedrooms, a well-equipped kitchen and modern bathrooms. However, we soon noticed a strange smell and huge black areas of mould throughout and room and the hotel in general. These patches in the corridor were even painted over during our stay in an attempt to hide the mould. A piece of ceiling also fell out, probably due to the same issue of damp mould. The most uncomfortable consequences of this health issue were noticed after one nights sleep- we woke with itchy, swollen eyes, congestion, nose bleeds and coughs. Checking out after three nights was a relief. We are very disappointed that a promising stay turned into a nightmare for us as allergy-sufferers. The hotel really needs to remedy this problem and improve the ventilation in the spa and heated pool area (right next to the room we stayed in) so that steam doesn't dampen the walls and ceilings and mould cannot grow.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
It is always regretful when any guest has a less than exemplary stay with us here at the Lodge. We welcome feedback, both directly to our staff or Management team, and online. It is most helpful to other readers and potential future guests when the feedback provided is constructive, accurate and factual – unfortunately, this is not the case with the above.

I assure valued future patrons we do not have an issue of mould in our rooms or corridors. I also welcome any guest with queries regarding the above feedback to contact me directly. I encourage you to consider other reviews online to evaluate our property, standards and customer service ethic.

N.B. Persons conversant with Banff’s mountain location at high altitude (elev. 1,463m), will be familiar with associated symptoms from our dry environment (as outlined in the review).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have stayed in Banff before but this was the first time at Rundlestone Lodge. We had two adjoining rooms with shared bathroom which worked very well for us. Staff were very helpful and provided an extra coffee machine/ kettle. It was exceptionally cold while we were visiting but the log fire always provided us with a warm welcome on our return to the hotel each evening and we spent several hours curled up on the sofa in front of the fire in the evenings! Food was good in the Bumpers restaurant . Would recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

With so many places to choose from in Banff we were happy how this place turned out. Its very warm and welcoming with the massive fireplace and super friendly staff in the lobby. The lodge itself was pretty quiet even with the 2nd floor renovations. The rooms are quiet large woth plenty of hanging space for winter coats etc. The facilities are great with a modern gym and heated indoor pool. Its about a 20min walk to town or the bus stop is right out the front.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Rundlestone Lodge is the perfect place to stay whilst in Banff - we enjoyed our 8 night stay very much. We had a loft room with a balcony, which was perfect for the 3 of us - comfortable beds, very clean, perfect temperature control, great having the extra toilet upstairs, well set up kitchen, great daily housekeeping, and easy parking. The walk to the centre of town was a leisurely 15 minutes. The view of the mountains from our balcony was gorgeous. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is a nice added touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Nice size room, comfortable bed. Staff were very helpful & even lent us their personal I-pad charger as well as a kettle. Good restaurant onsite - Bumpers Steakhouse. Had dinner & breakfast there, both good fare. Free wi-fi & underground heated parking were other pluses. 15 minute walk into downtown.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and will definitely be back as we felt it was great value for the money. I was very impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and the beds were extremely comfortable. The free underground parking was also great. There was some renovations going on to some of the rooms however I did not hear any noise during our stay. There is a small pool and hot tub and both were very clean as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.