We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Banff
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Rundlestone Lodge is the perfect place to stay whilst in Banff - we enjoyed our 8 night stay very much. We had a loft room with a balcony, which was perfect for the 3 of us - comfortable beds, very clean, perfect temperature control, great having the extra toilet upstairs, well set up kitchen, great daily housekeeping, and easy parking. The walk to the centre of town was a leisurely 15 minutes. The view of the mountains from our balcony was gorgeous. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is a nice added touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    260
    81
    27
    13
See reviews for
149
305
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Nice size room, comfortable bed. Staff were very helpful & even lent us their personal I-pad charger as well as a kettle. Good restaurant onsite - Bumpers Steakhouse. Had dinner & breakfast there, both good fare. Free wi-fi & underground heated parking were other pluses. 15 minute walk into downtown.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and will definitely be back as we felt it was great value for the money. I was very impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and the beds were extremely comfortable. The free underground parking was also great. There was some renovations going on to some of the rooms however I did not hear any noise during our stay. There is a small pool and hot tub and both were very clean as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The hotel has good potential however our stay was very disappointing. We made reservations based on a good deal for 3 nights however we couldn’t even last one night before making reservations at another hotel. We were informed two days prior to our arrival of an issue with the pool and offered complimentary passes (an $8 value) to the local hot springs, which quickly became maybe one pass overall after we asked a few questions about the passes (was originally one pass for each day of the reservation). Upon our arrival we were then told the pool is now open however when we went to check it out it was all locked up and we also had to walk through all the construction on the second floor. When we asked the front desk they said maybe we didn’t go through the right door, and by the way the pool was just filled and would be cold for a few days. Aside from the pool we were also not informed on our arrival of the closure of the hot tub and advised we could visit a sister property 7 minutes away (walking 7 minutes in winter to use a hot tub really??).

Once we committed to changing hotels we noticed several other issues that diluted our opinion of the hotel: dated room décor, unattractive bathroom finishing (plumbing under sink fully visible, laundry room style drain on floor, shower curtain vice doors, poor lighting) and noise from construction on second floor (banging started before 8 am the next morning).

When we had made up our mind to leave we informed the front desk and were challenged on the merits to depart, specifically no concern relating to the amount of construction, lack of pool and lack of hot tub. The morning of us departing it was odd that there was no inquiry from the day staff on why we were leaving, or even provision of an apology or context of what was going on, we simply paid our full charge for the stay and left.

Room Tip: I imagine that once the hotel finishes its renovations the second floor will be the more desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
I would firstly like to say how very sorry I am you were not satisfied with your visit. Naturally, our wish is for all guests to have thoroughly enjoyed their stay.

We are continually in a process of improving our facilities and therefore our guest experience here at the Lodge. The week prior to your visit, we were installing a new swimming pool liner. We contacted all guests where possible to advise them in advance of their visit. The work was due to be completed prior to your stay with us. Unfortunately, due to some complications, it took longer than expected, and notification of the delay was relayed to guests as soon as this information was available to us. We were very pleased to re-open the facility on the afternoon of your arrival. During the time our pool area was closed, alternative arrangements were made with our sister hotels for our guests to use their facilities and hot springs vouchers were provided as mentioned. We hope you were still able to enjoy the private, 2-person Jacuzzi in your room.

In the same ilk of our continual improvement, we are quite excited to be amid renovations of our guest rooms and common areas; A fantastic new-look restaurant and lounge area (completed earlier in the year) now houses Bumper’s the Beef house; new, high-end gym equipment which arrived around a month ago, and a new pool-liner now mean our Health Club facility is looking great! A brand new Wi-Fi infrastructure was installed around 2 months ago and speeds are now faster than I have at home! All guest rooms now have fridges and 42’ flat-screen TV’s - with in-room safes on their way. The 2nd floor rooms are indeed currently mid-enhancement, and yes, although that means the area is not at its best, we wish for our guests to be able to enjoy our fabulous health club, located on the second floor - so we have kept it open.
Although the renovations have been carefully co-ordinated to have minimal impact on one’s stay, we thank our valued guests for taking this into consideration and look forward to hosting you in our new-look rooms in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Clean and quite hotel. I will stay again. Jacuzzi and pool are was really quite. Reception friendly. First time staying here and I recommend everyone. Rooms are good and clean. Haven't try restaurant yet that will be my next stop I will submit my reviews about there soon.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Only a one night stay, but we were thankful for a quiet spot to hang our hat. The king size bed and pillows were perfect. Slam dunk right there. The jacuzzi was impressive in size and worked well. Check-in and check-out were easy and took about five minutes each.

Underground parking is free. Only note that breakfast isn't free and closed at 10 on a weekend morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
In my humble opinion, the most important aspect of staying at a hotel is having a great night's sleep - so I'm really pleased to learn that was the case! Not only do we have an 8-person hot tub in our Health Club, our 2-person Jacuzzi's in select suites are a very rare feature for Banff hotels; and extremely popular with our guests!

In order to accommodate those wanting a lie-in at the weekends (usually myself included when I stay in hotels!), our in-house restaurant, Bumper's the Beef House opens until 11:00am on Saturday and Sunday mornings. We are currently working on 'breakfast inclusive' pricing, so watch this space! (Currently, breakfast menu items range from $6-$12 when dining-in!).

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I'll start the review by saying I checked out early from the Banff Fairmont to move to the Rundlestone and wished I had moved days earlier. I reviewed the Fairmont elsewhere, so won't linger, but will say that the Rundlestone was a breath of fresh air of courteous and accommodating staff, a convenient in welcoming in and out location, and a high quality spacious room (which the Fairmont was none of these).
Entering town from the highway, the Rundlestone is one of the first properties in downtown proper. I like this because there wasn't as much congestion, if you're looking to step right out onto the restaurants and shops it might not be what you want. we found it just right.
The room was great. We got a loft unit that had a kitchen upon entering with a nice living room with a wood burning fireplace and then an upstairs bedroom with a very comfortable bed. The decoration was comfortable. There were no views, but then again neither did my room at the Fairmont for twice the price.
We had dinner one night at the restaurant on site and it was very good, very nicely appointed, and with great service.

Room Tip: Go for a loft room, the one bedroom has the bed upstair and the living area downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.