We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Elanora, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Complimentary parking wonderful rooms, and great friendly service. Banff made very special by a great hotel. It is terrific value for money. The staff were knowledgeable about the area and made us feel as if we were valued customers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    282
    85
    31
    13
See reviews for
160
331
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

cozy lodge,although the room amenities definitely need upgrades,nd mattress of room 317 needs to go. however, they have free underground parking, very friendly staff. so, i'd say this made us feel really welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Rundlestone on our recent romantic getaway to Banff. I selected this hotel based on other travellers reviews and for the price, it definitely did not dissapoint. It was exactly what we were after, a cozy, rustic and friendly accocomodation. We had a jacuzzi suite with a wood-burning fireplace and definitely made good use of both. The room was clean and very functional for our purposes. Our only complaint was that we couldn't get good cell service and the WiFi didn't work too well either, but part the deal of this trip was to leave our phones off and so this did not disrupt our weekend one bit. The staff were friendly, the hotel is a reasonably short walk to downtown Banff, although if you are less inclined to walk, the hotel provides pedal bikes but we thoroughly enjoyed the walks to and from the hotel for our outtings. I would definitley recommend and return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Room disappointing, dingy and dated, stains on carpet and couch. Only two pillows on bed, which was mediocre, bathroom vent badly in need on cleaning. Place has potential if they clean a bit. Service great, free movies and DVD player and bicycles

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I was very sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with the cleanliness of the room as the Rundlestone Lodge is a repeated recipient of the 'Housekeeping Award' from the Alberta Hotel Motel and Lodging Association. Naturally, we wish for any concerns to be raised with the Front Desk who will be more than happy to help resolve them. There are 2 additional pillows in the drawers in the room and we would have be happy to advise you of this had you contacted the Front Desk.

With regard to your comments of the rooms being tired and dated, in the coming weeks, we are due to commence a considerable renovation project in our guestrooms - affording our valued guests an enjoyable and memorable visit well into the future!

I am really pleased you were able to utilise our complimentary bicycles and DVD's during your visit. I was particularly happy to read your comments regarding the service. Our staff try extremely hard to promote a great interaction with our guests! Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very happy with our stay in a king loft jacuzzi suite. The front desk was so helpful in answering all my questions, very quick responses to email and accommodating to cleaning the room without chemicals/scented products.
The jacuzzi was must larger than you find in most hotels, the bed was comfortable, room was clean, excellent underground parking, bikes available for free but only a 10-15 min walk to get into the heart of Banff shopping/restaurants etc.
Some furniture is worn and rooms could use some updating, but it was good value for Banff and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to spend your time in Banff. When you drive up to the hotel you will see this nordic chalet facade. Parking is availabe at the door for check in. When you first walk into the hotel you are greeted by a
huge beautiful fireplace to welcome you. Great staff, new gym equipment, nice pool. Indoor heated garage Short walk to downtow Banff

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here with my husband last weekend and it wasn't as nice as I expected it to be (was gutted as I chose it!).

Bad:

The room was really dim, stuffy and outdated (we had a standard room). The fitness room is a joke, it has 3 machines in a really bare room, they should be embarrassed to advertise this! So overpriced for what is is (we paid $190 and what we received for it was shocking).

Good:

Underground parking
Good service from reception

We would only stay here again if what we paid was halved or if there was a major overhaul.

Room Tip: Maybe try going for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I was very sorry to learn you were less than satisfied with your stay. Our goal is to ensure all guests have an enjoyable visit and leave wanting to tell others about their stay and host you again in the future.
I was happy to read of your appreciation of our Front Desk service - our staff works hard to ensure a great guest experience in this regard.

Our gym equipment was completely replaced on 10th October and we now sport; a treadmill, elliptical machine, exercise bike, recumbent exercise bike, multi-gym, balance ball, and 2 stretching mats. We will also have a range of free weights (dumbbells) arriving in a couple of weeks. Although not a professional gym, we feel that for a 3.5star hotel, we have a good choice of equipment in our gym. Feel free to check out the new equipment on our Facebook page.

We are confident in our existing product in terms of comfort and cleanliness - but it is time for a change! In the coming weeks, we are due to commence an extensive renovation project for our guestrooms. This will help ensure we are exceeding guest expectations today and into the future!

We appreciate all feedback provided to us - as it helps us listen to our valued guests and helps us improve to facilitate a great and memorable stay at the Rundlestone Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.