We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very happy with our stay in a king loft jacuzzi suite. The front desk was so helpful in answering all my questions, very quick responses to email and accommodating to cleaning the room without chemicals/scented products.
The jacuzzi was must larger than you find in most hotels, the bed was comfortable, room was clean, excellent underground parking, bikes available for free but only a 10-15 min walk to get into the heart of Banff shopping/restaurants etc.
Some furniture is worn and rooms could use some updating, but it was good value for Banff and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    261
    81
    29
    13
See reviews for
151
307
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to spend your time in Banff. When you drive up to the hotel you will see this nordic chalet facade. Parking is availabe at the door for check in. When you first walk into the hotel you are greeted by a
huge beautiful fireplace to welcome you. Great staff, new gym equipment, nice pool. Indoor heated garage Short walk to downtow Banff

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here with my husband last weekend and it wasn't as nice as I expected it to be (was gutted as I chose it!).

Bad:

The room was really dim, stuffy and outdated (we had a standard room). The fitness room is a joke, it has 3 machines in a really bare room, they should be embarrassed to advertise this! So overpriced for what is is (we paid $190 and what we received for it was shocking).

Good:

Underground parking
Good service from reception

We would only stay here again if what we paid was halved or if there was a major overhaul.

Room Tip: Maybe try going for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I was very sorry to learn you were less than satisfied with your stay. Our goal is to ensure all guests have an enjoyable visit and leave wanting to tell others about their stay and host you again in the future.
I was happy to read of your appreciation of our Front Desk service - our staff works hard to ensure a great guest experience in this regard.

Our gym equipment was completely replaced on 10th October and we now sport; a treadmill, elliptical machine, exercise bike, recumbent exercise bike, multi-gym, balance ball, and 2 stretching mats. We will also have a range of free weights (dumbbells) arriving in a couple of weeks. Although not a professional gym, we feel that for a 3.5star hotel, we have a good choice of equipment in our gym. Feel free to check out the new equipment on our Facebook page.

We are confident in our existing product in terms of comfort and cleanliness - but it is time for a change! In the coming weeks, we are due to commence an extensive renovation project for our guestrooms. This will help ensure we are exceeding guest expectations today and into the future!

We appreciate all feedback provided to us - as it helps us listen to our valued guests and helps us improve to facilitate a great and memorable stay at the Rundlestone Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. It was a really beautiful hotel, especially at night. It was located in a good location. I like the free parking in the basement. There was no free breakfast and internet access was a crawl so I took a star off for those.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Thought we go with this hotel even though mixed reviews.
Check in was great. Quick and simple.
first experience this is good, looks nice and welcoming.
Room was a pool side which was lovely, but noisy when children shouting and screaming, and no window to air the room, to and stuffy.
Room was clean but beds were hard and not really comfortable, 1 pillow per bed that was flat.
Had a queen and single bed in the 1 from, preferred just 1 kingsize.

Husband wanted to use the Gym, which was Broken and the receptionist said we could use the one at the sister hotel, which that was broken too.

Food was expensive, walking down to the hotels along the road was more value.

Lots to do in Banff, we went horse riding, the gondola, hot springs, lake walks, shopping, two jack lake and river canoes.
3 nights we a night to long and on the 3rd day we had not much to do and hanged around the hotel most of the evening, to get an early start for the next morning.

After waking up we had bites on us not sure, where the bites were from, but spent the next few days in discomfort inching these dreaded bites, we only had them on the last day in Banff so must of picked it up there.

When booking the hotel in Banff there were not really any hotels with availability so that why we chose Rundlestone lodge, after arriving we seen other nicer accommodation with vacancy. So I wished I searched and looked a bit harder to find one, before booking.

The supervisor on reception, after mentioning the gym etc did give us a small refund, but not really CAN$60, we paid for 3 nights CAN$588.

Room Tip: Check reviews and if you can get better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Upgraded to a Jacuzzi room from the King size room we had reserved for our three nights stay- which was interesting. The room was large allowing a seating area with a high ceiling plus a fire place.Having a jacuzzi meant the shower was smallish. Overall a nice room with a fridge and a comfortable bed.Breakfast was an option and more on the expensive side than good value plus they always appeared to be ,at minimum, one server short. Big under ground parking which was great for arrival & departure. Washing machines and dryers are available for a minimum charge which was very handy. So many things are fine with this hotel, but it just misses something - may be too many one night stays reduce the service level and the comfort factor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently spent 9 days in Banff. For much of it, we stayed at the Rundlestone Lodge...and we're very happy we did!! From our arrival at 1:00 am until our departure several days later, every single staff person was very helpful and endlessly cheerful. Every request (extra coffee for our room, help with the TV, extra towels, etc..) were promptly and effectively dealt with. The rooms we had were spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Access and underground parking were a breeze. And the place is just a 5 minute walk down the main street to the town centre.

We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room that is not on the Banff Avenue side as it can be a little busy wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.