We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Jose, California
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. It was a really beautiful hotel, especially at night. It was located in a good location. I like the free parking in the basement. There was no free breakfast and internet access was a crawl so I took a star off for those.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    324
    91
    31
    15
See reviews for
178
369
22
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Thought we go with this hotel even though mixed reviews.
Check in was great. Quick and simple.
first experience this is good, looks nice and welcoming.
Room was a pool side which was lovely, but noisy when children shouting and screaming, and no window to air the room, to and stuffy.
Room was clean but beds were hard and not really comfortable, 1 pillow per bed that was flat.
Had a queen and single bed in the 1 from, preferred just 1 kingsize.

Husband wanted to use the Gym, which was Broken and the receptionist said we could use the one at the sister hotel, which that was broken too.

Food was expensive, walking down to the hotels along the road was more value.

Lots to do in Banff, we went horse riding, the gondola, hot springs, lake walks, shopping, two jack lake and river canoes.
3 nights we a night to long and on the 3rd day we had not much to do and hanged around the hotel most of the evening, to get an early start for the next morning.

After waking up we had bites on us not sure, where the bites were from, but spent the next few days in discomfort inching these dreaded bites, we only had them on the last day in Banff so must of picked it up there.

When booking the hotel in Banff there were not really any hotels with availability so that why we chose Rundlestone lodge, after arriving we seen other nicer accommodation with vacancy. So I wished I searched and looked a bit harder to find one, before booking.

The supervisor on reception, after mentioning the gym etc did give us a small refund, but not really CAN$60, we paid for 3 nights CAN$588.

Room Tip: Check reviews and if you can get better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Upgraded to a Jacuzzi room from the King size room we had reserved for our three nights stay- which was interesting. The room was large allowing a seating area with a high ceiling plus a fire place.Having a jacuzzi meant the shower was smallish. Overall a nice room with a fridge and a comfortable bed.Breakfast was an option and more on the expensive side than good value plus they always appeared to be ,at minimum, one server short. Big under ground parking which was great for arrival & departure. Washing machines and dryers are available for a minimum charge which was very handy. So many things are fine with this hotel, but it just misses something - may be too many one night stays reduce the service level and the comfort factor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently spent 9 days in Banff. For much of it, we stayed at the Rundlestone Lodge...and we're very happy we did!! From our arrival at 1:00 am until our departure several days later, every single staff person was very helpful and endlessly cheerful. Every request (extra coffee for our room, help with the TV, extra towels, etc..) were promptly and effectively dealt with. The rooms we had were spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Access and underground parking were a breeze. And the place is just a 5 minute walk down the main street to the town centre.

We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room that is not on the Banff Avenue side as it can be a little busy wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponoka, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here in one of the king loft rooms for a night . Nice cozy room, amazing bed, best sleep I have had in a long time. The only thing I had a problem with was, and in my books its a big problem, we asked for a late checkout which was given to us quite easily. I had slept in until 11:15 and had to be out of the room by noon. I went to have a shower only to find there was no hot water. I called down and was informed that the hot tub is emptied and filled every Monday around this time. This drains all the hot water from half the hotel and neither of us was able to have a shower. I was informed to wait for 30 to 45 minutes which i was unable to do because of the checkout time. I was not offered another room to use until after i had packed up and left the room and went down to check out and specifically asked to speak to the manager.

Nice hotel but this should be known to all guests or readily displayed. They should also be offered another room with hot water to use if theirs is gone. The manager did offer this but it was too late by then for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a king loft with a balcony, adds just a little more to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A third night in Banff stayed up the street. We liked this place much better for staying just a few days and it was cheaper. This place had a nice swimming pool and balconies. A very clean and nice place. It also had a fridge which is all we need. We never ate here so not sure about the food. The rooms were very comfortable and didn't appear overly dry. Enjoyed very much!

Room Tip: I would ask to stay on the pool floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

For some unknown reason, we were given an upgrade to a family suite with a real living room & kitchen,2 baths, & 3 tvs! So, more than we needed but even more comfortable for our 3 night stay than the room we had reserved! Good bathroom: lots of towels (not the precisely one each we find so often). We brought dinner in 1 night, since we had a real oven for reheating; we bought simple breakfast supplies & toasted muffins each morning, so we actually saved money that we hadn't anticipated saving. Highly recommend. Our only negative was inattentive, bordering on rude, service in the lounge, where we had dinner one evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.