We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed after the Fox Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stayed after the Fox Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A third night in Banff stayed up the street. We liked this place much better for staying just a few days and it was cheaper. This place had a nice swimming pool and balconies. A very clean and nice place. It also had a fridge which is all we need. We never ate here so not sure about the food. The rooms were very comfortable and didn't appear overly dry. Enjoyed very much!

Room Tip: I would ask to stay on the pool floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    326
    91
    31
    15
See reviews for
179
372
22
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

For some unknown reason, we were given an upgrade to a family suite with a real living room & kitchen,2 baths, & 3 tvs! So, more than we needed but even more comfortable for our 3 night stay than the room we had reserved! Good bathroom: lots of towels (not the precisely one each we find so often). We brought dinner in 1 night, since we had a real oven for reheating; we bought simple breakfast supplies & toasted muffins each morning, so we actually saved money that we hadn't anticipated saving. Highly recommend. Our only negative was inattentive, bordering on rude, service in the lounge, where we had dinner one evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Rundlestone only overnight, but it was very professionally run establishment. It looks like a motel or a lodge but its offers much more. Rooms are large and spacious, there's a bar and a restaurant and I believe pool, sauna and spa. The handy laundry and vending machines were also useful. Although its far from the centre of Banff town, they have bicycles and we didnt mind the walk as its nice and quiet. Its a shame that the fireplace wasnt on when were there as it looked quite cosy. The breakfast buffet was very simple, but adequate.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front but it was still quiet. I suggest that the rooms near ice machines, pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Most of our experiences were good, both in regard to the room, the dining room, and to some degree the front desk. The young lady who checked us in was very friendly and very service oriented, whereas the one who checked us out couldn't have cared less. Basically, took our money and went about an admin. task. No thank you, no "how was everything?", come back soon or have a pleasant trip or day. Nada. Breakfast was served in the diningroom and the 2 poor waiters were left to serve a room full of people with no one to help. They tried their best. Shame on the hotel for allowing this to happen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Spent the last three nights of our holiday here and it didn't disappoint. Lovely big, clean comfortable room with air conditioning and the hotels underground parking was a bonus We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment but the breakfasts were quite reasonably priced and good. The staff were all you would hope for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in a kitchenette loft suite for 4 nights in mid September. We liked the location - it was a nice walk (or easy bus ride) to the downtown, but far enough outside of the busy area to be quiet and lodge-like. We were very pleased with this hotel for two main reasons 1) it was quiet 2) it was clean. The kitchenette had everything we needed (including a corkscrew) for making packed lunches and easy breakfasts on the go. The decor was a bit dated, but very homey. It is a lodge, after all. The staff were pleasant and welcoming. The bed was very comfortable. We were looking forward to the wood burning fireplace but it was above seasonal temperatures for September so we didn't try it. They even provide dvd rentals - for us exhausted hikers with another big day planned for tomorrow. Just a note of caution - if you get the king bed that is up in the loft - and you need to get up to use the bathroom in the night - it is a dark trek down to the bathroom. I would recommend they provide nightlights for guests to use. We ended up leaving the bathroom light on all night long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and stayed at the Rundlestone Lodge for 5 days during the third week of June 2013.

The hotel is quite nice. The lobby is nicely appointed and the fireplace provides a slight hint of wood smoke (if you like that sort of thing). The common areas including the pool, hot tub, hallways were very clean and well maintained. The pool and hot tub are were a particular treat.

The room (king) was very nice. It was clean and there were no issues with needed maintenance etc. It was also large. If you go to Banff for outdoor adventure you tend to have a lot of gear. It is a wide beautiful world out there and you need to be prepared to power through the rain/sleet/wind and snow you face in order to see it. That takes gear. It was a treat to have the room to lay it all out.

We only had breakfast in the restaurant. It was good and affordable. They also had a take out option for those of us that wanted to get an early start on the day. That was a great option. Again, good and affordable.

The walk to downtown is not very far. Certainly the Rundlestone is not the closest to downtown but it is a pleasant walk.

The staff, under normal circumstances (I will get to that in a moment) was considerate and kind. The front desk staff and the restaurant staff did a great job.

The staff under extraordinary circumstances did a superb job. We were in Banff during the Canmore/Calgary floods of June 2013. Banff was the farthest east one could drive on the Trans Canada due to extensive flooding in Canmore. It was also cut off to the west by a rock slide on the Trans Canada. It was a literal and figurative island of refuge for residents, tourists and those forced off the highway. Every tour bus (and there are A LOT of tour buses in the Banff/LL area) and car in the area was stranded in Banff.

The staff, lead by Johnathon, did exactly what they should have done considering that the hotel (indeed the town) was fully booked. Those that were due to check out were required to do so and could rebook as cancellations came in. Ultimately, there were a ton of cancellations given that if we couldn't get out of town, others could not get in (and the Trans Canada east to Calgary, i.e. the airport, was closed for a week or more). Had someone made it to the hotel and found that their room was given away through no fault of their own they would have been rightfully angry.


But given the amount of non-native English speakers and stranded tour bus tourists the staff did a wonderful job. They were kind and consoling when confronted with tears and anger and a fair amount of fear. All the while their own homes, property, friends and loved ones were likely under considerable threat from the rising flood waters in Banff and the surrounding areas. The staff was just as stranded as the rest of us and had more at stake; this was their home and merely our vacation. But you would not have known it by their very professional demeanor.

For one we were in a better position than most, for one we were headed west back to the USA and only needed the rock slide to be cleared. Two we had a spacious rental car that would have provided reasonably comfortable sleeping accommodations if need be. Also, this was the end of our trip, not the beginning, so our trip was not ruined, just delayed by about 12 hours. Also, being from Minnesota, Canada is like going to grandma's house. It's not home, but it is very close to it. So we are able to observe the staff/other guests rather than worry about ourselves. They did a great job.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.