We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Leduc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Honeymoon Suite was awesome and the fireplace is a great touch. The staff are friendly and the restaurant and lounge serve up great treats. Underground parking is a plus as well and there are luggage racks in the basement at the Elevator. Simply enter the garage and load up and then check in would be the best arrival.

Room Tip: Order a Champagne as well for the arrival as they are very economical. As well the Jacuzzi rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    334
    93
    31
    15
See reviews for
183
385
22
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent three nights here, using this hotel as our home base for exploring the Icelands Parkway, Banff and Lake Louise. It is very convenient, no traffic, easy parking, great accommodation. Our internet worked fine the entire time (a little slow, but not a major issue.) More importantly, the room is clean, bed comfortable, coffee/tea, TV, balcony with view of the main road and mountains. I liked that we were not smack in the middle of the downtown Banff, but about 1/2 mile up the street. We drove into town it was clogged with summer traffic. They provide free bikes, too. I would highly recommend this place--it reminds me of a Hampton Inn. Not too fancy, but a two star. Staff were very friendly and helpful. If you are spending a lot of time in the room,, note that there is some traffic noise since it is on the main road in Banff. This was fine for us since we got up and left each morning. My only minor suggestion is that they provide coffee in the lobby in the morning-- for the cost of the accommodation, this should be standard. Otherwise your stuck with the little coffee pot in the room. Not a deal breaker, just a suggestion.

Room Tip: Balcony views of the mountains are gorgeous! They face the road, so you may have some minor traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed in Rundlestone and although on Banff Avenye it's quite a walk into the centre of Banff , not that this was an issue for my wife and i as we enjoy walking. We didn't use it, but there is a local bus service for those who may struggle with the walk, and there are complimentary cycles available from the front desk staff. There is good car parking under the hotel and in terms of driving it is well placed for access to the highway

Generally speaking i would say that the hotel is "tired" and in need of a redecor but having said that the rooms are large enough and no issues with cleanliness. The wash hand basin is located in the bedroom outside the bathroom as is the hairdryer, this may not be problematic for everyone but something that we were unaware of. Pool and hot tub as pictured and a welcome place to relax if required. Our bed tended to roll into the middle this may be reflective of our room but again suggests that some upgrading and replacement programme of fitments needs to be considered.

The front desk staff are very helpful and good at making local recommendations for dining etc, we didn't eat in the Rundleston so can't comment on the dining expereince but there were a number of advertised specials which looked good but didn't tie in with our stay. All the staff were very friendly.

This was our 8th accommodation in Canada, varying from small B&B's to larger hotels and ones of similar scale to the Rundleton and our biggest bug bearer with our stay at the Rundleston was their internet access - it is very poor and as i am writing this after an earler review that also slated it i can confirm that during our stay there has been no improvements to it. In this day and age access to the internet when away from home is critical and hotels advertising this should dleiver - the Rundlestone doesn't.

Because of the above i would be wary of recommending the Rundlestone as there are a large number of hotels along Banff Avenue and if returning to Banff would consider using others before the Rundlestone. It provides good value for money and if not concerned about internet access it could be for you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Your comments are appreciated - I am glad you enjoyed your visit overall and found the hotel clean and the Front Desk staff friendly and helpful - your scoring and review of our property reflects a pleasant visit which is what we strive for!

I wanted to respond mainly with regard to the internet - both to yourselves and to our future guests. As discussed during your visit we were experiencing some Wi-Fi speed issues in certain sectors of the hotel as highlighted in a couple of reviews. As mentioned in a previous response, we are aware Internet access and connectivity (particularly good Wi-Fi) is key to the modern-day traveller. We value our customer feedback and not only do we listen, we take action to rectify shortfalls in service to help ensure the best possible guest experience.

Although this review was written almost 2 weeks ago, I wanted to hold off on responding until we were able to fully address the Wi-Fi concerns; After considerable investigation, we identified some network conflict problems and have made the necessary adjustments to resolve the speed issues. Even though we have seen consistently high occupancy levels since then (and therefore heavy Internet usage), I am pleased to report I have not received any negative feedback since.

Furthermore, we have taken the additional measure of upgrading our entire Wi-Fi infrastructure - to help ensure we can provide a high-level Wi-Fi service, FREE OF CHARGE well into the future. We hope to have this new infrastructure in place by the end of the month.

I would also like to reiterate, in addition to the complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, the Rundlestone Lodge also offers its guests a complimentary computer station in the lobby including web-cams, headsets and free printing, and complimentary i-Pad access in the lobby for browsing.

Thank you for helping us improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

the hotel is just outside of Banff .clean room restaurant facilities .try the early morning bacon egg muffin with coffee to go .well worth it good hotel for an overnight stop .would be great in the winter with a roaring log fire good value for money

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The building exterior is nice, the rooms are very average but clean. Interiors are dated and worn.

My biggest beef is the lack of working Internet in the rooms. There's plenty of signal to log into, but cannot even load basic news pages and Google searches unless you are in the lobby. Seriously?

I went to the desk about this twice and gave them the period of a very long dinner in town to "restart their routers" or find me another room. Desk clerk confirmed signal and slow Internet but when my cellular phone has 10x faster speeds than the wifi something is wrong. From my room I was never able to load a page. Why am I paying $200 a night when I spent most of the evening in the lobby trying to take care of business back home.

There are better properties locally who deliver what they promise in this price range. Keep looking!

Room Tip: Skip this place if you rely on the Internet for business or any other reason!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We take all complaints seriously and apologise for the connectivity issues you experienced with the Wi-Fi. As mentioned in our conversation of yesterday, I have followed up with our Internet service provider and our Wi-Fi technician with regards to this issue and we are now working on a resolution to the problem. I empathise it is frustrating. As mentioned in your feedback, the Wi-Fi in the lobby was functional and we also have a computer station in the lobby for guest use.
Many comparable and more expensive hotels charge extra for their Internet services and we are happy to include access at no additional cost for our valued guests. Occasionally there are issues but we try our best to address these in a timely manner.

I am pleased to read you otherwise enjoyed your stay with us. We would love the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

It was nice to find a very clean, well appointed hotel that was reasonably priced. After travelling the Jasper to Banff route this was the only hotel that was under $200 a night...and the nicest! We were 4 adults and a baby and our room was layed out in an "L" shape so we couldn't see eachother sleeping. Your walk is about 10 minutes to the shopping area, but there are restaurants all along the way as most hotels have them.
Pool was warm and shallow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The good: The room was large and comfortable, overlooking the park with a small balcony. We were pleased with how quiet it was, given how many people were staying there. The windows had room-darkening drapes, which was great. There were good bars of soap, extra pillows. The room was kept clean, there was a large flat-screen TV, small fridge, sofa and the use of complimentary bikes to ride downtown. Service was friendly. The parking garage below the hotel was helpful, well-lit and clean. The hotel is at the edge of town, so most restaurants and stores are about 6+ blocks away. But there is a restaurant in the hotel and in other hotels nearby within easy walking distance. Everything is expensive so the price is one of the most reasonable for a 3-star hotel. The not-so-good: The WiFi was very slow and frustrating, almost useless. When we inquired about it and expressed concern, we were told it was the mountains at fault. Nope... (We stayed in Jasper and had excellent WiFi there, which has just as many mountains around. We also found better WiFi in downtown Banff.) The towels were on the thin side. The lighting in the room was dim and the wall light fixtures over the bed were really loose and needed repair. Despite the WiFi frustration (which was the biggest downer), we'd stay there again; it seemed to be one of the better options for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.