We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent property. No Internet!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Complimentary Services
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Banff
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Decent property. No Internet!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The building exterior is nice, the rooms are very average but clean. Interiors are dated and worn.

My biggest beef is the lack of working Internet in the rooms. There's plenty of signal to log into, but cannot even load basic news pages and Google searches unless you are in the lobby. Seriously?

I went to the desk about this twice and gave them the period of a very long dinner in town to "restart their routers" or find me another room. Desk clerk confirmed signal and slow Internet but when my cellular phone has 10x faster speeds than the wifi something is wrong. From my room I was never able to load a page. Why am I paying $200 a night when I spent most of the evening in the lobby trying to take care of business back home.

There are better properties locally who deliver what they promise in this price range. Keep looking!

Room Tip: Skip this place if you rely on the Internet for business or any other reason!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We take all complaints seriously and apologise for the connectivity issues you experienced with the Wi-Fi. As mentioned in our conversation of yesterday, I have followed up with our Internet service provider and our Wi-Fi technician with regards to this issue and we are now working on a resolution to the problem. I empathise it is frustrating. As mentioned in your feedback, the Wi-Fi in the lobby was functional and we also have a computer station in the lobby for guest use.
Many comparable and more expensive hotels charge extra for their Internet services and we are happy to include access at no additional cost for our valued guests. Occasionally there are issues but we try our best to address these in a timely manner.

I am pleased to read you otherwise enjoyed your stay with us. We would love the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    243
    79
    27
    13
See reviews for
145
288
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bancroft
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

It was nice to find a very clean, well appointed hotel that was reasonably priced. After travelling the Jasper to Banff route this was the only hotel that was under $200 a night...and the nicest! We were 4 adults and a baby and our room was layed out in an "L" shape so we couldn't see eachother sleeping. Your walk is about 10 minutes to the shopping area, but there are restaurants all along the way as most hotels have them.
Pool was warm and shallow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The good: The room was large and comfortable, overlooking the park with a small balcony. We were pleased with how quiet it was, given how many people were staying there. The windows had room-darkening drapes, which was great. There were good bars of soap, extra pillows. The room was kept clean, there was a large flat-screen TV, small fridge, sofa and the use of complimentary bikes to ride downtown. Service was friendly. The parking garage below the hotel was helpful, well-lit and clean. The hotel is at the edge of town, so most restaurants and stores are about 6+ blocks away. But there is a restaurant in the hotel and in other hotels nearby within easy walking distance. Everything is expensive so the price is one of the most reasonable for a 3-star hotel. The not-so-good: The WiFi was very slow and frustrating, almost useless. When we inquired about it and expressed concern, we were told it was the mountains at fault. Nope... (We stayed in Jasper and had excellent WiFi there, which has just as many mountains around. We also found better WiFi in downtown Banff.) The towels were on the thin side. The lighting in the room was dim and the wall light fixtures over the bed were really loose and needed repair. Despite the WiFi frustration (which was the biggest downer), we'd stay there again; it seemed to be one of the better options for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Rundlestone Lodge is truly a facility that you want to considerwhile in Banff. The rooms are not only clean, they are comfortable and inviting. My wife and I have been traveling through Canada this Summer and the Rundlestone Lodge was a wonderful lodging facility. I would truly recommend the Rundlestone if you are in Banff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent rooms, very nice pool area. Underground parking garage. There is a very nice Sunday brunch at the lodge next door. This hotel is toward the end of a strip of hotels, and is farther than some from the downtown area if you wish to explore Banff on foot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in July 2013. We booked the hotel through bookings.com and we were very happy with our room which was a loft kitchenette situated at back of the building. It had plenty of room and allowed us to cook some of our own meals, was very quiet and we enjoyed the afternoon sun although the views at the front of the building over Banff Avenue would probably be bettter this did not concern us.
We had a trouble free check in and the reception staff were always helpfull. The free underground parking, WIFI, DVD's and bicycle usage were also appreciated and the pool was also nice. (loved the bkies I wished all hotels did this)
The only downside is that it is one of the last hotels in Banff Avenue so there is a fairly long 20 minute walk into town although this did not bother us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed in peak season after struggling to secure any decent accommodation.

Greeting was excellent with early check in and from that point for the whole stay of 5 days we received a high level of service and were welcomed as valued guests.

There are a variety of room styles that should accommodate most requirements of singles, couples and families / mixed groups. I noted previous reviewers opinions re the rooms being 'tired'. I could see what they meant but to the extent that the rooms were not new it did not really matter at all. They were totally functional and clean, which is my first requirement.

Our loft room had a queen on main level and double bed in loft. Both beds were some of the most comfortable that I have ever experienced in a hotel any where in the world.

Loft had its own sink and toilet as well as its own open robe, as well as other drawers and bedside tables - plenty of room to unpack for a reasonable stay. Loft had its own television although having downstairs tv on as well might be untenable noise wise.

Downstairs had a sitting area with 2 large chairs and a table looking out to an amazing mountain view. Our room did not have a balcony which was fine with some inconsistent weather. A balcony on the other (non Banff Avenue) side would have been great and would have an amazing mountain view. That side would also be quieter but we did not find the noise an issue with the room sealed and air con on. We also had the windows open for fresh air on occasion and the noise was not a major issue. If you want consistent quiet insist on a room on the non Banff Avenue side of the hotel.

Hotel facilities included a laundry, really nice pool area, underground secure (and heated) parking, lovely lobby, 2 x free computer terminals and printer next to reception with free internet (wifi is free but inconsistent throughout hotel, did not work in our 3rd floor room at all - best on 2nd floor or near lobby).

We did not dine at Bumpers on site steak restaurant but it featured a good menu with competitive pricing for the main Banff dining scene. There is a cosy bar off the restaurant with a large screen tv, lovely fireplace and it also features a small (tapas style) menu if you just want drinks and something light and don't want to dine in the restaurant.

We by no means got a bargain, but staying in peak season and during civic holiday long week end was unfortunate timing for those ignorant of this long week (ie - me). We did note that in the week after the long weekend that reception were offering daily deals via phone, so it would definitely pay to contact the hotel directly after seeing what is available on line and via the various search engines to compare and ensure that you get the best deal.

Overall - I would recommend this hotel as a safe and good option to meet your accommodation needs whilst visiting Banff. Whilst it is a good 10-15 minute stroll from the main part of Banff Avenue, I considered this a good thing to avoid the manic pedestrian masses and some of the associated noise.

Enjoy Banff - it is a wonderful vacation destination with loads to do, see, taste and experience - Happy travelling.

Room Tip: Ask for room on non Banff Avenue side of hotel with a balcony (in warm months) for more quiet and fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.