We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accom choice in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good accom choice in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed in peak season after struggling to secure any decent accommodation.

Greeting was excellent with early check in and from that point for the whole stay of 5 days we received a high level of service and were welcomed as valued guests.

There are a variety of room styles that should accommodate most requirements of singles, couples and families / mixed groups. I noted previous reviewers opinions re the rooms being 'tired'. I could see what they meant but to the extent that the rooms were not new it did not really matter at all. They were totally functional and clean, which is my first requirement.

Our loft room had a queen on main level and double bed in loft. Both beds were some of the most comfortable that I have ever experienced in a hotel any where in the world.

Loft had its own sink and toilet as well as its own open robe, as well as other drawers and bedside tables - plenty of room to unpack for a reasonable stay. Loft had its own television although having downstairs tv on as well might be untenable noise wise.

Downstairs had a sitting area with 2 large chairs and a table looking out to an amazing mountain view. Our room did not have a balcony which was fine with some inconsistent weather. A balcony on the other (non Banff Avenue) side would have been great and would have an amazing mountain view. That side would also be quieter but we did not find the noise an issue with the room sealed and air con on. We also had the windows open for fresh air on occasion and the noise was not a major issue. If you want consistent quiet insist on a room on the non Banff Avenue side of the hotel.

Hotel facilities included a laundry, really nice pool area, underground secure (and heated) parking, lovely lobby, 2 x free computer terminals and printer next to reception with free internet (wifi is free but inconsistent throughout hotel, did not work in our 3rd floor room at all - best on 2nd floor or near lobby).

We did not dine at Bumpers on site steak restaurant but it featured a good menu with competitive pricing for the main Banff dining scene. There is a cosy bar off the restaurant with a large screen tv, lovely fireplace and it also features a small (tapas style) menu if you just want drinks and something light and don't want to dine in the restaurant.

We by no means got a bargain, but staying in peak season and during civic holiday long week end was unfortunate timing for those ignorant of this long week (ie - me). We did note that in the week after the long weekend that reception were offering daily deals via phone, so it would definitely pay to contact the hotel directly after seeing what is available on line and via the various search engines to compare and ensure that you get the best deal.

Overall - I would recommend this hotel as a safe and good option to meet your accommodation needs whilst visiting Banff. Whilst it is a good 10-15 minute stroll from the main part of Banff Avenue, I considered this a good thing to avoid the manic pedestrian masses and some of the associated noise.

Enjoy Banff - it is a wonderful vacation destination with loads to do, see, taste and experience - Happy travelling.

Room Tip: Ask for room on non Banff Avenue side of hotel with a balcony (in warm months) for more quiet and fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    333
    93
    31
    15
See reviews for
182
384
22
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at Rundlestone and loved it. Our room was a loft kitchenette with a king sized bed, it had ample space for the two of us. Both the room and the hotel were very clean with very friendly staff. Even though it was a bit of a walk into downtown it wasn't bad and I would have no problem staying here again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the backside so we didn't get much road noise which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were looking for a less expensive place to stay since Banff is so expensive and we enjoyed The Rundlestone Hotel. They had all kind of upgrades to terrific suites but we stayed in a standard king room, which had a balcony. We didn`t have that great of a view but we liked the hotel. You could get DVDs at night and watch movies. The restaurant didn`t have many options but was okay for the money. The staff had a good attitude. We slept great. It was pretty far from the main part of Banff but that didn`t bother us.

Room Tip: I`d suggest paying a little more and upgrading to the special suites they have. We did not stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We love a romantic weekend in Banff and this is our go-to place.

We've had almost every kind of room with a wood-burning fireplace that there is. Our favorites are the Loft Kitchenette with one bed, Rundle Loft Jacuzzi Suite and the Honeymoom suite. These are super roomy, while being romantic and cozy. Having a little kitchenette or fridge means we can have our favorite wine and cheese evening the day we arrive and not even leave the room.

A jacuzzi suite also means that you'll never WANT to leave the room!

We've been coming here for years and will continue to do so. Love it!

Room Tip: Defintely get a room with a fireplace if you're looking for romance!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Rundlestone Lodge. It is a bit pricey, but we found the bed to be very comfortable, the rooms were clean and the service is always the best - very friendly staff. It is more at the end of the main street - but we like it that way....overall, a great place to stay

Room Tip: we always got the room with the jucuzzi tub - but again, a little bit pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights; the hotel is located on the main route into Banff, it is close enough to the centre to walk (15/20 minutes I would estimate) although we chose to drive each time as we were travelling with my elderly mother. There is a large underground car park, where we always found a parking space.

We reserved a ground floor ‘Separate Sleeper Room’ which was located on the corner at the front of the hotel; it overlooked the park and the road. The windows were double glazed and noise from the road was not a problem.

The rooms were well appointed; although the decor was rather dark and quite old fashioned, whilst in very good condition, we found this to be the norm in a lot of Canadian hotels, it’s just the ‘style’ of the place. There was plenty of room for the four of us, there was separate access to the bathroom from both bedrooms and you were able to lock both doors, the beds were very comfortable.

The staff we encountered were all very helpful and pleasant. We did not use their restaurant even though it did look very appealing as the whole area had just been re-fitted.

Would I stay here again? Probably; but not before trying to find accommodation of the same good standard a little closer to the centre of Banff so that I could walk there rather than drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in serious need of a face lift. Over priced, not clean ( filthy carpets, bathroom vent ), mattress like an ironing board, one small bar of soap at sink that needed to be moved to the tub/shower. Room overlooked indoor pool through steamy window accompanied bt a strong smell of chlorine. All that for $222.00/night. Will not stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hmm! Very interesting that the 2 recent 1 star reviews come from reviewers who have never posted before and seem to mention the same issues - that after a slew of other, favorable reviews.
If your review is genuine and you indeed did not enjoy your stay, that is most regretful. Our objective is for all our guests to have an enjoyable stay and leave wanting to return and provide their friends and family with a recommendation of our property. We sincerely wish for guests to report any issue to the Front Desk in order we can do our best to rectify them straight away. I refer again to the Rundlestone Lodge being a recipient of the Alberta Hotel Motel & Lodging Association's 'Housekeeping Award' for yet another year in 2013.
We offer a great number of included amenities with our room pricing (parking, Wi-Fi, DVDs, bicycles. swimming pool. hot tub, gym) and feel we offer fantastic value for money, comfortable accommodations.
I encourage future guests to consider the aggregate of reviews on this (and other) site(s) and contact the hotel directly in order we can fully answer any queries you have - to further help ensure your stay with us is a fantastic one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.