We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“qaulity hotel at nice price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Banff
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“qaulity hotel at nice price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

i stayed here for 13 nights between the 18 june and 2 july....and was one of the last to make it to banff before the chaos kicked off....check in was very smooth...my room was excellent and overlooked tunnel mountain..was great to have a balcony...the front desk staff were always very good...and always greeted you as you left and entered the hotel...particular praise must be given to jonathan here during the floods the hotel became very busy being by himself he dealt with everyone got them sorted and remained completly calm throughout....the housekeeping staff were great no complaints here at all...i never ate in the actual resturant but the bar was very nice and the bison burgers were superb...dominic the barman was always happy to chat...and shared some of his hiking tips for the area...overall i would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend anyone going to banff stay here...it may be a bit too far out from town for some but theres a bus stop right outside...for me the location was just right....the only thing that let the hotel down slightly was the gym..i often find this with hotels though

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    262
    81
    30
    13
See reviews for
153
311
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a decent place to stay, after midnight, we had limited Internet access after driving for what seemed like hours. The first two places we stopped at were between $200-300 per night. We finally got Cellular access, and found the Rundlestone lodge. The man on the phone was super helpful, and took all our info, even though our phone cut out a few times. When we arrived, Mike was extremely polite and gave us an excellent room! I am sure he must have upgraded us!! The price was awesome! The room was perfect for us. Very spacious and clean. There were 6 of us...3 adults and 3 children, and we were not crowded at all. The kids had a lovely swim in the pool before we checked out. Our stay was wonderful. I wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you, Mike!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spend a couple of nights at the Rundlestone. Our room was large, the kitchen was handy. Great restaurants are a few minutes walk away. Parking was easy and very accessible. The staff were very helpful. The location is excellent. Very spacious, very clean, good linens, comfortable bed. The pool area was clean and enjoyable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolligen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently stayed one night (opted for two additional nights in Canmore) and were very lucky with the lodge. Location is great, staff very friendly. The rooms were good and definitely worth the money.
Cleanliness of the room, WiFi etc. all very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I went there for our honeymoon at the beginning of June. The room had a loft, jacazzi, kitchette, deck and a wood burning fireplace. This suite was clean and the front desk was helpful in answering our questions. It was in a good location and it was really quite even though it's on one of the main roads in town. The view from the balcony was beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far North Coast, NSW
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our whole stay at Rundlestone. Check-in was efficient and friendly.
Mid-week rate was excellent value. We stayed with family and had 2 rooms, both were spacious. They include bar-fridge, a lounge, lots of hanging space for clothes and large bath. Both rooms were in very good condition contrary to another review? Our rooms were very quiet from both inside and outside noise. The hotel has an ice-machine (and ice buckets), plus a reasonably priced coin-operated laundry! This was a huge bonus to us.
The pool was adequate and whirlpool / spa was great. The Free WiFi was faultless.
We ate at the Lounge one night and it was very reasonable. We also had breakfast twice there, which was Big and delicious! We also took advantage of the breakfast-to-go...a bacon and egg muffin with coffee, It was cheap - maybe only $5 i think.
The free car park below the hotel was secure and had storage area for skis and provided luggage trolleys. There is a service station one block away for supplies/snacks, but the main shopping district is a flat walk of several blocks. Taxi to the opposite end of town was only $8.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the mountains and 'main road' - but there was no outside noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel was very good in terms of food, room, decor maintenance and staff.

The hotel itself is on the main street in Banff but 15 minutes away from the main downtown area meaning it is quiet at night.

It has a steak house restaurant which has good food and good decor. There is a salad, chicken and pasta option but it is mainly different variations of great Alberta beef. Other places to eat are near by.

The room we had was a premier king. Stacks of space, big bathroom, clean and well looked after.

It has a pool whcih we did not use but it looked OK. The hotel has an underground car park which is good. Two lifts give you access into the hotel.

Staff were very good and helpful. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.