We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were looking for a decent place to stay, after midnight, we had limited Internet access after driving for what seemed like hours. The first two places we stopped at were between $200-300 per night. We finally got Cellular access, and found the Rundlestone lodge. The man on the phone was super helpful, and took all our info, even though our phone cut out a few times. When we arrived, Mike was extremely polite and gave us an excellent room! I am sure he must have upgraded us!! The price was awesome! The room was perfect for us. Very spacious and clean. There were 6 of us...3 adults and 3 children, and we were not crowded at all. The kids had a lovely swim in the pool before we checked out. Our stay was wonderful. I wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you, Mike!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    326
    91
    31
    15
See reviews for
179
372
22
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spend a couple of nights at the Rundlestone. Our room was large, the kitchen was handy. Great restaurants are a few minutes walk away. Parking was easy and very accessible. The staff were very helpful. The location is excellent. Very spacious, very clean, good linens, comfortable bed. The pool area was clean and enjoyable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolligen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently stayed one night (opted for two additional nights in Canmore) and were very lucky with the lodge. Location is great, staff very friendly. The rooms were good and definitely worth the money.
Cleanliness of the room, WiFi etc. all very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I went there for our honeymoon at the beginning of June. The room had a loft, jacazzi, kitchette, deck and a wood burning fireplace. This suite was clean and the front desk was helpful in answering our questions. It was in a good location and it was really quite even though it's on one of the main roads in town. The view from the balcony was beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far North Coast, NSW
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our whole stay at Rundlestone. Check-in was efficient and friendly.
Mid-week rate was excellent value. We stayed with family and had 2 rooms, both were spacious. They include bar-fridge, a lounge, lots of hanging space for clothes and large bath. Both rooms were in very good condition contrary to another review? Our rooms were very quiet from both inside and outside noise. The hotel has an ice-machine (and ice buckets), plus a reasonably priced coin-operated laundry! This was a huge bonus to us.
The pool was adequate and whirlpool / spa was great. The Free WiFi was faultless.
We ate at the Lounge one night and it was very reasonable. We also had breakfast twice there, which was Big and delicious! We also took advantage of the breakfast-to-go...a bacon and egg muffin with coffee, It was cheap - maybe only $5 i think.
The free car park below the hotel was secure and had storage area for skis and provided luggage trolleys. There is a service station one block away for supplies/snacks, but the main shopping district is a flat walk of several blocks. Taxi to the opposite end of town was only $8.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the mountains and 'main road' - but there was no outside noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel was very good in terms of food, room, decor maintenance and staff.

The hotel itself is on the main street in Banff but 15 minutes away from the main downtown area meaning it is quiet at night.

It has a steak house restaurant which has good food and good decor. There is a salad, chicken and pasta option but it is mainly different variations of great Alberta beef. Other places to eat are near by.

The room we had was a premier king. Stacks of space, big bathroom, clean and well looked after.

It has a pool whcih we did not use but it looked OK. The hotel has an underground car park which is good. Two lifts give you access into the hotel.

Staff were very good and helpful. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked in January for a August trip and ended up with a terrible room. We left Calgary a day early to spend more time in Banff and called to get into our room a day early. She gave us the last room at the end of the hall on the main floor, opposite the door to the garage and a big air conditioner out the window. We also had to pay full price even thought we had already booked to stay for 4 nights. The girl at the front desk was not at all interested in what I had to say. The air conditioner in our new room (after I got upset) buzzed all night and I had to beg someone to come and fix it. There are so many nicer, newer hotels on the main street to choose from. This hotel is very outdated and could some a lot of TLC. I did send the manager an email after we got home and never heard a thing back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.