We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My in-laws stayed for about a week and my 4-month old and I had our own room for a copule of nights. We didn't use their crib/playpen that was offered as I had brought my own playpen, but didn't use it as we had an unexpected king size bed. (not complaining)

The room itself was so huge that I never collapsed my full size stroller. There was a nice size patio and had great views.

The dinning room was nice, there was one night that the two wait staff had an almost full dinning room and were struggling with service. There was a tour bus full of people that were staying at the hotel, don't understand why they didn't bring in extra staff, overall we had a good dinning experience.

Underground parking was abundant, but the front doors have two steps and no ramp. When I had first exited the building for a walk, the front desk staff, who said hi to me and noticed the stroller, didn't say anything about the steps out front and I carefully took my stroller down. When we came back, I had carefully taken the stoller up the steps. When I made this issue known to the front desk, they had mentioned that there was a ramp on the north side of the building but that I would've had to come in (leaving my baby unattended outside wasn't going to happen) and have a staff member open the door as it locks from the inside. The ramp wasn't noticeable from the outside (no signage).

Room Tip: Unless coming and going from the garage, there are steps at the front entrance and no signage for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    324
    91
    31
    15
See reviews for
178
369
22
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Rundlestone Lodge for one night in April and it was a very positive experience.
We had a loft kitchen suite with a wood burning fireplace. I don't know many hotels that have real wood burning fireplaces in the room so that would certainly be a bonus for travelers. While we only stayed one night, this would be a very good place to spend a few days. You could cook your own breakfasts in your room, buy groceries for lunch and store them in the hotel room fridge, and then save money for eating out at night.

Our room was the perfect size for two adults and one or two small children. We had a king sized bed upstairs in the loft for us and then we had a pull out couch on the main floor for our son. We put him to bed upstairs and then moved him down when we went to bed. This worked well. If you wanted two beds, the Rundlestone has many different kinds of suites and lofts so you just have to view the various kinds of rooms on their website.

We enjoyed the swimming pool and loved that the pool had a large shallow end that our 4 year old could play in - and touch the bottom. Myself I liked the hot tub. We also liked that the pool area was really quiet and peaceful when we were there on a Sunday night. We had the whole facility to ourselves both times we went in.

The front desk staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. They were very clear that if we had any questions, problems, or concerns, that we should contact them and that they would happily assist us in any way. It was some of the best service I've had at a resort or hotel.

We also appreciated the location of the hotel. It wasn't right downtown so was nice and quiet. There was a playground next door and you could easily walk downtown if you wanted to eat out or do some shopping.

The free underground parking was a bonus for Banff. A bonus for most hotels in fact! Yay for this extra service.

Finally, the restaurant has great hours for families, opening early in the evening at 5 I believe, and then opening at 6:30am for breakfast. It was great having a restaurant on site so that we didn't have to go far to find food. On the constructive side, the restaurant had just hired new staff with their grand re-opening and some of the staff still had a bit of learning to do. We waited over 20 minutes for our bill the first night for example. The food was also merely average for a steak house. We both ordered steak and found it to be more well done than we had ordered. The salad bar was mediocre and the restaurant needs to get plastic cups for the kids instead of giving them big glass goblets.

All in all, a great stay.
More information on our stay along with photos can be found on my personal blog: http://www.rockiesfamilyadventures.com/2013/04/spring-energy-shot-in-banff.html

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Many thanks for the detailed, well-balanced feedback.

Naturally with opening of a new restaurant, there are teething troubles with staffing, efficiency and consistency. All feedback therefore will help us improve the experience for our customers, so 'thank you' for your thoughts. They have been forwarded to the restaurant manager for review with his team. We thought you were absolutely right about the plastic cups for children and now have them on order!

It was lovely to read your thoughts on the hotel and suite. It really is a pleasure to receive an insight into your stay experience and wonderful to learn you enjoyed interacting with the staff and were able to enjoy the many included amenities the Rundlestone Lodge offers.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Banff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athabasca, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was a pretty decent hotel and we would certainly stay here again. Rooms were clean and staff friendly. I cannot comment on the restaurant since it was closed for reservations while we were there. The only thing I would do differently is request a room with an outside view rather then a view of the pool (We just left the curtains closed).

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a "pool" view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada/australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and paid approx $80 per night. We really enjoyed our stay. Room was cozy and bed was excellent. We had a pool view room. Hot tub and pool area were nice to enjoy in the evening. Onsite restaurant but we ventured into Banff each night. Loved the indoor parking which kept our vehicle nice and warm.

We enjoyed our stay however I feel that we would stay somewhere closer to the town centre as we like to have dinner and drinks out and I don't like walking 15 mins to town or waiting 40-50 minutes for a bus. The price was perfect for us though and I would return if this was the case.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We've stayed in Banff on three previous occasions and the Rundlestone was far superior to other places we've stayed. Very cosy and welcoming. Extremely clean and well maintained. The room wasn't huge (premium two queen, for two adults and one teen) but plenty of storage and surprisingly quiet. Individual thermostat in the room meant we could control the temperature which was useful as the weather fluctuated between a relative heat-wave and freezing conditions during our stay.
Some lovely touches like the comfy chairs around the log fire in reception and the book corner. The hotel was apparently full over Easter and yet it didn't feel crowded.
A 10 min walk into town which was fine for us. Buses were frequent from right outside if you need them. Ski and boarding gear can be hired from town or across the road at Inns of Banff. Heated underground car-park was very accessible for storage. The ski buses stop at the neighbouring hotel, which was handy.
Service on the front desk was generally excellent - helpful and friendly staff with just the odd exception.
Cleaning staff were very discreet but those we did encounter were lovely and friendly.
The restaurant and lounge bar was a real highlight. We'd frequented Bumpers during previous holidays in it's former location and were delighted to hear it was to reopen in the Rundlestone. It was as good as we remembered - maybe better! Staff were extremely friendly, efficient and very attentive. We had breakfast there most mornings which was delicious.
In the evenings James at the bar made us feel like locals and really looked after us. It was lovely to wander down, exhausted after a hard day skiing and have our 'usual' poured. The food was of an excellent standard and, whilst you may find cheaper options in town, you get what you pay for... Our only concern is that once the locals rediscover Bumpers after the official re-launch it will be packed out in the evenings and you'll only get a table if you've booked in advance!
Thanks for a lovely holiday. We're planning to go back at Xmas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in the Rundle Loft Jacuzzi Suite, and it was wonderful experience. The room is perfect for couples looking for a cozy & romantic weekend away. Everyone who works here is extremely pleasant and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and very reasonably priced.
Their restaurant, Bumpers, is new and had recently opened, both the food and service were awesome.
This was our second time booking a weekend here, and we will be happy to book a third in the near future!! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel lived up to description and expectations, which is always a pleasant surprise. Large comfortable room with huge flat screen TV and DVD player. Bathroom fine and plenty of hanging/storage space. No fridge but some of the rooms do have them. Bed was a bit soft but comfortable - others say beds hard so I guess mattresses vary across the rooms. The newly fitted out bar and restaurant were very nice - we had drinks, dinner and breakfast and all were good/reasonable value. The walk into town is a good 10 minute walk but the excellent Roam bus stop is on the door step. They run into/out of town every 40 minutes and quite late so handy if you don't fancy the walk - only $2. Good free ski storage and ski bus stop only 100 yards away. Only slight gripe was that the air conditioning in the room was very noisy when it came on to heat the room up during the night so resorted to turning it off. Luckily the room stayed fairly warm so not a major problem. Also, the multi-gym in the leisure area was broken but no doubt it will be fixed by the time this review is read. All staff friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge and/or harder mattress if those things are important to you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.