We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at the Rundlestone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Banff
canada/australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice stay at the Rundlestone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and paid approx $80 per night. We really enjoyed our stay. Room was cozy and bed was excellent. We had a pool view room. Hot tub and pool area were nice to enjoy in the evening. Onsite restaurant but we ventured into Banff each night. Loved the indoor parking which kept our vehicle nice and warm.

We enjoyed our stay however I feel that we would stay somewhere closer to the town centre as we like to have dinner and drinks out and I don't like walking 15 mins to town or waiting 40-50 minutes for a bus. The price was perfect for us though and I would return if this was the case.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    262
    81
    30
    13
See reviews for
153
312
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We've stayed in Banff on three previous occasions and the Rundlestone was far superior to other places we've stayed. Very cosy and welcoming. Extremely clean and well maintained. The room wasn't huge (premium two queen, for two adults and one teen) but plenty of storage and surprisingly quiet. Individual thermostat in the room meant we could control the temperature which was useful as the weather fluctuated between a relative heat-wave and freezing conditions during our stay.
Some lovely touches like the comfy chairs around the log fire in reception and the book corner. The hotel was apparently full over Easter and yet it didn't feel crowded.
A 10 min walk into town which was fine for us. Buses were frequent from right outside if you need them. Ski and boarding gear can be hired from town or across the road at Inns of Banff. Heated underground car-park was very accessible for storage. The ski buses stop at the neighbouring hotel, which was handy.
Service on the front desk was generally excellent - helpful and friendly staff with just the odd exception.
Cleaning staff were very discreet but those we did encounter were lovely and friendly.
The restaurant and lounge bar was a real highlight. We'd frequented Bumpers during previous holidays in it's former location and were delighted to hear it was to reopen in the Rundlestone. It was as good as we remembered - maybe better! Staff were extremely friendly, efficient and very attentive. We had breakfast there most mornings which was delicious.
In the evenings James at the bar made us feel like locals and really looked after us. It was lovely to wander down, exhausted after a hard day skiing and have our 'usual' poured. The food was of an excellent standard and, whilst you may find cheaper options in town, you get what you pay for... Our only concern is that once the locals rediscover Bumpers after the official re-launch it will be packed out in the evenings and you'll only get a table if you've booked in advance!
Thanks for a lovely holiday. We're planning to go back at Xmas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in the Rundle Loft Jacuzzi Suite, and it was wonderful experience. The room is perfect for couples looking for a cozy & romantic weekend away. Everyone who works here is extremely pleasant and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and very reasonably priced.
Their restaurant, Bumpers, is new and had recently opened, both the food and service were awesome.
This was our second time booking a weekend here, and we will be happy to book a third in the near future!! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel lived up to description and expectations, which is always a pleasant surprise. Large comfortable room with huge flat screen TV and DVD player. Bathroom fine and plenty of hanging/storage space. No fridge but some of the rooms do have them. Bed was a bit soft but comfortable - others say beds hard so I guess mattresses vary across the rooms. The newly fitted out bar and restaurant were very nice - we had drinks, dinner and breakfast and all were good/reasonable value. The walk into town is a good 10 minute walk but the excellent Roam bus stop is on the door step. They run into/out of town every 40 minutes and quite late so handy if you don't fancy the walk - only $2. Good free ski storage and ski bus stop only 100 yards away. Only slight gripe was that the air conditioning in the room was very noisy when it came on to heat the room up during the night so resorted to turning it off. Luckily the room stayed fairly warm so not a major problem. Also, the multi-gym in the leisure area was broken but no doubt it will be fixed by the time this review is read. All staff friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge and/or harder mattress if those things are important to you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Not much to say about the Rundlestone. It is just a comfortable hotel at (just about) walking distance from downtown Banff.

It was our first skiing trip to Canada and what we found really nice was the heated parking garage with ski lockers and the ‘no ski’s, ski boots, snowboard in the hotel’ signs everywhere.

We would stay here again but a tiny little bit closer to town would also be nice.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked this hotel with hotwire and was pleasantly surprised. Nice pool and hot tub. Rooms were comfortable and adequate...not super spacious though. Staff was friendly. Hotel offered free movies to rent. Walking distance to town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here with family and friends and had a fantastic stay!

The accommodation was great (we booked a separate sleeper room as we have 2 children age 14 and 10), very clean with daily linen and towel changes and comfy beds. Even though the room was on the ground floor and facing on to Banff Avenue, we hardly heard the traffic. Reception staff were helpful and polite at all times and great with the kids. We used the pool and jacuzzi every day after skiing and perhaps the temperature in the pool room and the water temperature could have been warmer, but it was still enjoyable and the jacuzzi was bliss!!

The Bar and Resaurant area had recently been renovated and was a good mix of comfort and style. The food in Bumpers was great (I had both the New York Strip Steak and the Trout and they were both cooked to perfection) and the waiting staff again were courteous, helpful and patient and the chefs happy to adapt the menu to suit dietary requirements. A special mention to the bar tenders - James and Neil - we had a really good laugh with them, they were friendly, welcoming and great with the kids.

The location of the hotel means its is a good 15/20 minute walk into Banff itself, but its an easy walk and there are plenty of bars and restaurants on the way! The shuttle buses to the ski slopes stop at the hotel next door, which was really convenient.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again if we are ever fortunate enough to visit Banff in the future. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.