We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Banff
Yellowknife, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed 3 nights while on family vacation in Banff. Booked the 'Semi Private' room which was a very nice upgrade that offered ample space for 2 adults and 2 kids with lots of luggage. Room had a king bed, queen bed and pull out couch sitting area.
Bed was not the best but comfortable enough. Fireplace and private balcony was a nice bonus. The pool and hot tub area was good and staff was pleasant. Underground parking and ski/snowboard lockers were great.
For the price (deal) we paid (3 nights for price of 2), we couldn't have asked for more. Location was convenient (a few blocks from downtown) and was walking distance to some nice restaurants.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the pool and hot tub - some of our property's highlights! Excellent that you spotted the Winter Promotion on our website and got a great deal!! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

A note to future guests: Our Semi-Private room does not have a fireplace, nor a pullout couch - please check out the 'Rooms & Suites' page on our website for full room descriptions and floor plans, or if calling directly, please ask the Front Desk Agent for details about specific room amenities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    259
    81
    27
    13
See reviews for
149
305
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmarshall
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week ski trip to the Rundlestone Lodge, Banff.
Booked over the internet and got a good deal on a special promotion.
Room on the 3rd floor (overlooking the small adjacent park/childrens play area) was very clean and well looked after with frequent changes of towels/bed linen. The king bed was very comfortable with blankets rather than duvets - we made use of the spare blanket as it was cold in Banff.
Heating was ducted air which was a bit noisy but we switched it off during the night and, as the hotel was very quiet, we slept well.
All the staff were very pleasant & friendly and are a credit to the hotel.
We did use the hot tub which is quite small but nice after a days skiing.
Free wi-fi was very good and there are also computers and a printer for guests to use in the reception area. We would have liked a room safe but reception were very happy to store valuables.
The dining room and bar have just been re-launched as their Bumpers restaurant/bar and the decor and furnishings are very impressive. We ate breakfast regularly which was very reasonable & tasty. The menu was a bit limited but the great staff were more than happy to 'mix & match' whatever we wanted. The dinner menu was a bit pricey so we ate in the town.
The reception area is a bit dated and the feature fire was only occasionally lit but this should not detract from this very nice hotel.
We would definitely recommend the Rundlestone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 330 which was set up with a king bed. The view from the window is of the adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week in March while on a ski trip and were extremely satisfied with everything. We had a loft room which was great for our teenager who had the bedroom upstairs with her own partial bathroom. All the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast daily at Bumpers Restaurant which was great. You can buy discounted ski passes at the front counter which was convenient and the walk to downtown Banff is only approximately a 10 - 15 minute walk or there is a bus stop right outside the hotel. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Rundlestone Lodge for 3 nights last week. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was friendly and extremely helplful. The pool area was clean and relaxing. We had our breakfast daily in Bumpers Restaurant, the staff was extremely friendly, the service was excellent, the food excellent, the prices were very good value. We also had cocktails in the lounge which was extremely relaxing, they have a great fireplace which added to the ambiance. We considered having dinner at Bumpers but were put off by the prices. We were surprised that a hotel which catered to families would have only one restaurant which was classified as a "steak house" with dinner prices accordingly. I think that the dinner hour in the restaurant would increase with more family friendly prices. Definitely would recommend the Rundlestone.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony overlooking Banff Ave.which was quite and gave us excellent views of the moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

When we first arrived at the hotel we realized that our truck wouldn't fit in thier under ground parking because of how steep the driveway is, the garage door also malfunctioned and came down onto the good of our truck. Our king size jacuzzi suite was nothing special. There were only regular size pillows on the bed and also no comforter only a thin fleece blanket. The jacuzzi tub was so loud we couldn't even sit in it. So we decided to watch some tv, they only have very basic cable with no on demand movies. They offer a free DVD service in the hotel which does not have any newer movies. We had no cell service in our room, and could only get very poor wifi in certain spots of the room. For the price of the room we will definitely not be staying at the Rundlestone Lodge again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Rundlestone Lodge They were renovating the restaurant while we were there but this was not an issue at all. We got a great "local" rate which was appreciated. The only concern we had was that we found the bed too soft. This of course, is a personal preference so really may not matter to others. The room itself was very clean and spacious. We were in an end room so found it to be very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michiana, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had wonderful stay at Rundlestone. Staff are friendly and accommodating. We had not so good weather and was able to move our reservation under the same rate the next day. Not a problem at all, which in the US, this thing could be a hassle. Very clean room, nothing to complain at all. Check their direct website for specials, often it won't show up at other booking sites. Thanks, Rundlestone - you made our stay at Banff very pleasant indeed !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.