We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

When we first arrived at the hotel we realized that our truck wouldn't fit in thier under ground parking because of how steep the driveway is, the garage door also malfunctioned and came down onto the good of our truck. Our king size jacuzzi suite was nothing special. There were only regular size pillows on the bed and also no comforter only a thin fleece blanket. The jacuzzi tub was so loud we couldn't even sit in it. So we decided to watch some tv, they only have very basic cable with no on demand movies. They offer a free DVD service in the hotel which does not have any newer movies. We had no cell service in our room, and could only get very poor wifi in certain spots of the room. For the price of the room we will definitely not be staying at the Rundlestone Lodge again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    304
    88
    31
    13
See reviews for
166
355
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Rundlestone Lodge They were renovating the restaurant while we were there but this was not an issue at all. We got a great "local" rate which was appreciated. The only concern we had was that we found the bed too soft. This of course, is a personal preference so really may not matter to others. The room itself was very clean and spacious. We were in an end room so found it to be very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michiana, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had wonderful stay at Rundlestone. Staff are friendly and accommodating. We had not so good weather and was able to move our reservation under the same rate the next day. Not a problem at all, which in the US, this thing could be a hassle. Very clean room, nothing to complain at all. Check their direct website for specials, often it won't show up at other booking sites. Thanks, Rundlestone - you made our stay at Banff very pleasant indeed !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lee, nj
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Chantalle was the receptionist at the time I called the hotel to book my 6 nights there. I read great reviews on trip advisor. All I wanted was a top floor quiet room. When I arrived I got just that. Everybody was very accommodating and helpful with all my touring needs. The pool was great and so was the hot tub. The hotel is only ten minutes to downtown Banff. Great for walking around and just stare at the beautiful snow capped mountains that surround the town. Breakfast not included. No microwave or fridge. That will for sure be something they need to offer for the price.

Room Tip: room on the 3rd floor corner 324
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Rundlestone Lodge in mid January 2013 and we were very impressed. It is very clean throughout, the halls are bright and cheerful and the carpets didn't look worn at all. Everything about our room was perfect, the bathroom spotless and even the windows and draperies looked like they were freshly cleaned. The beds were comfortable and the bedding is high quality linen. The pool area is beautiful.
I met houskeeping, maintenance and front desk staff. All were pleasant and friendly.
Micheal, the front desk staff member who checked us in, was particularly accomodating to our room requests.
It is ideally located, away from the busy downtown but a lovely 10 to 15 min. walk to the centre of the town. If public transportation is preferable, the bus stops very close to the hotel.
Overall, an excellent hotel. We are looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Our room faced the front with a balcony, traffic noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Over the years we have tried a lot of hotels in Banff and the Rundlestone Lodge was the only one on the main street where we didn't hear the train at night. Also we didn't hear the neighbours or noise in the hallways. The rooms must be very well insulated/soundproofed. That is a big plus for me.
Another plus is the underground heated free parking.
Sleep quality is very good. The bed is a bit soft for my taste, but the missus praised it. The rooms are comfortable and well laid out. The cleaning staff did a very good job. That being said, the room amenities are quite basic for a 4 star. Service is very friendly and competent.
We didn't try the restaurant, so we can't comment on that, but we tried the heated pool and hot tub and it was a pleasant way to end the day. Clean and refreshing.
Overall a very good choice in Banff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked Rundlestone Lodge for a 2 night mid week break in Banff, the price was very reasonable and we were very happy with our choice. Rundlestone lodge is around a 15 minute walk into town which didnt bother us, and as a result even though we had a street side room was very quiet. We had a lovely room, with a tv and a nice firm bed. Reception staff were polite and helpful, and our room was clean, and true to the pictures on the website.
There was underground parking, and lockers in the parking lot for storage of skis, poles, boots etc.
The restaurant was undergoing renovation on our stay, however it was partly finished and looked very nice, the breakfast was also good, with plenty of choice.
I would certainly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your gracious comments regarding the staff and some of the other amenities we are proud to offer here at the hotel!

The Rundlestone Lodge is pleased to announce the extensive dining room and bar/lounge renovations mentioned in the above review are complete and the legendary 'Bumper's The Beef House' is open!! We look forward to welcoming everyone in for some fantastic Steaks and Ribs in our new restaurant; all meals of course come with the famous salad bar! The lounge offers patrons the chance to sip cocktails by the fire or enjoy a few cold ones watching live sport at the bar!

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your Canadian trip and had a great journey home. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Banff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.