We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing after a Day at the Fields.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing after a Day at the Fields.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were met by very polite and happy reception staff and promptly checked in. Parked the car and made our way up to a separate bedroom with another queen bed in the main room. Bathroom was small and had to wash hands or brush teeth in the main room, a little odd. Continental breakfast was provided which was a great way to start the day when skiing. The Hotel blended in with the town's decor, keeping a very cabin feel to Banff. Banff seems small, but there is a lot to do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    304
    88
    31
    13
See reviews for
166
355
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We rented the room with the King size bed, jacuzzi tub and wood burning fireplace. It was great, we were only there for one night but it was nicely furnished, clean and the location was good. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a get away weekend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Nothing to really criticise about this 3 star hotel, almost perfect but for the lack of it's own decent restaurant. However this will soon be rectified as while we were there they were just finishing the building work for their new steakhouse (opening soon, maybe already be open). Because of this disruption they provided all guests staying during the building period with a free (and substantial!) continental breakfast. Following some of the harsher reviews on Tripadvisor we weren't expecting much but were very pleasantly surprised, this is quite simply a very good hotel, comfortable, clean with large guestrooms, free wifi and good service. Looked lovely and festive with all the decorations up and welcoming log fire in the lobby. Hopefully with it's new future restaurant there will be the opportunity to enjoy a relaxing drink in the evening. We had to go to the next door hotel/steakhouse.
Also nicely located as the town and all its attractions are in one direction and about 10-15 minute walk away.

Room Tip: We had a room that looked up at Cascade Mountain and not the main road through Banff, so quieter and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth Qld
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed in a family suite. The room was great, and the bed very comfortable. I would probably stay again, given the location is also ok, it's a 10 minute walk into town but hey Banff is a nice place to walk around.

The heated carpark is a nice touch and the hotel has a nice feel to it.

My only criticism is that service could do with a shake up. It felt like most of the staff were lacking in customer care. A simple hello was difficult for them, including the front desk. Had to ring room service every day to get firewood or coffee replaced. Those things are easy to fix.
Otherwise had a really nice stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Another week in Banff and yet another stay at the Rundlestone. Always good service, good value and excellent rooms. At this time the restaurant was under renovation but will reopen in Feb according to the front desk
I will be back next year

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I am a big traveller and I've been to 26 countries. This is one of my favourite hotels and I stay here every time I come to Banff. It feels homey, it's always clean, the beds are way too comfy, the fitness facility and awesome, and the customer service is always great. I'm here with my niece to ski this weekend and the lobby and lounge are beautifully decorated for Christmas.

I've noticed something rather rare here as well. I've never seen a hotel offer such great long-distance phone rates--finally a hotel that doesn't nickel and dime at every opportunity. It makes staying here and connecting for work easy and affordable.

Thanks, Rundlestone. You'll always get my business.

Room Tip: The loft suites are really unique and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked two king rooms for a stay over Christmas. We were not disappointed by this hotel. The underground parking was convenient with easy access to the hotel lobby.
The only thing about the check in was that we had to put $150 per room on the credit card for a damage deposit that was reversed at the end of the stay. I know this is becoming common practice but we were not made aware of this prior to booking. Our room was very clean and you could adjust the temperature as much as you wanted (For anyone that stays in hotels a lot, you will appreciate the big deal it is when the heating is working)The only strange thing about the layout was that the bathroom contained just the toilet and a bath/shower overhead. The sink was not in the bathroom, it was positioned next to the main door as you enter the room.
Location of the hotel is good and would be a lovely walk into Banff town centre when the weather is warmer. It was pretty cold during our stay we had to stay by the wood fire in the lobby ;)
Some of our party went skiing, the hotel doesn’t allow you to take wet ski gear into the rooms. They provide lockers for you in the underground parking, good idea as it benefits everyone using the facilities. The hotel had Christmas decorations everywhere. One of our party even had a Christmas tree in their family room.
On Christmas Day the hotel offered an hour of free international calling which was a lovely gesture.Overall this hotel offered everything we wanted for our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.