We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King Jacuzzi Suite doesn't disappoint!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Banff
St. Peter's, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“King Jacuzzi Suite doesn't disappoint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed here for the night while in Banff & it was great! I did find it a little chilly in the room but it did have a working wood fireplace which was a nice touch. The two person jacuzzi however was the highlight of our stay! Lots of towels, plenty of room for two & lots of hot water. We used this three times in less than 24 hours. I would recommend this hotel to any couple looking for a romantic getaway. So to sum it up:

Pros:

Two person tub!
Fireplace
Bath & Body Works soap/shampoo/condition/bodywash/lotion
Underground parking included
Quiet

Cons:

15 minute walk to downtown Banff (which isn't long but could be quite cold)
Little chilly in room

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback - I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Our 2-person Jacuzzi tubs are definitely a highlight; be sure to book in advance as these Suites often sell out a way ahead! Just one small note, all our rooms are individually climate controlled (either heat or air conditioning), so it's just a matter of adjusting the thermostat in the room to find the perfect temperature for you. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Banff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    242
    79
    27
    13
See reviews for
145
287
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nites midweek in December & the cost worked out to under $80/nite (including tax, continental breakfast, fast WIFI & parking). The king room was spacious & even though it faced onto the main road was very quiet. There is a good in-house gym/pool/hot tub area that serves the purpose. Being only a 15min walk from the village of Banff, the location is good for those who don't ski/snowboard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Booked a "non-refundable" room at C$79 (tax excluded) in Oct. Not bad given this hotel has swimming pool, water tub and underground garage. Also there is laptop available in the lobby.

Specious room although a bit dark (lighting needs improved). Maybe linen quality is where the owner want to enhance, if they would like to upgrade upscale.

Overall good value in Banff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I booked Rundlestone very last minute, but after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. I knew two things--people on TripAdvisor liked it and it was one of the better hotel deals at the time I booked. I had never been to Banff before, so was very unfamiliar with the area and what to expect with regard to travel conditions. I opted to avoid getting a rental vehicle and instead took the airporter to the hotel and rode the ski bus every day. This worked out great. There is a pickup point for the ski bus 1 block away. The hotel is maybe a little over a kilometer (less than a mile) to the center of town. I walked it frequently without difficulty in the winter, but there are also city buses that will get you there if walking in the cold is not your thing. The hotel itself has a nice little lap pool and a fairly large hot tub. There are changing rooms and a small gym as well. I booked a room with a pool view and they upgraded me to a balcony room. There was a large flat screen TV in the room, a cute little vanity table, a decent sized bathroom with a deep tub, and a work desk. The internet was spotty, but free. There was no refrigerator or microwave (you can get a room with these things, but I didn't). Parking and lockers were free. The bed was comfortable. Overall, I was very pleased with the whole situation--no hidden fees, a good price, and a comfortable hotel. The continental breakfast was great! I'm not sure if that will continue after the new restaurant opens, but at least for the next few weeks, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Having now seen the pool rooms, I might recommend against it, particularly in busy times as I'm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed with friends at the end of September. One of my friends incorrectly booked the wrong night, so when we showed up on the wrong day and the hotel was booked, we thought we were screwed. Called around and it seemed like all of Banff was sold out that night. The woman at the front desk (I can't remember her name now) was awesome. She was able to get us a room last minute and we were able to stay in Banff instead of trying to find somewhere else to stay the night.

The actual hotel is decent, probably on par with any other average place in Banff. The real story for us was being able to get a room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Rundlestone Lodge was a great place to stay. The staff was excellent and the accommodations were clean and comfortable. Underground parking and continental breakfast were included. Huge roaring fireplace in the lobby was excellent and well maintained by very attentive staff. Definite repeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Rundlestone Stone for one night in early November. We booked last minute on Hotwire and we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel reception/lobby was inviting with a burning fire and was very cozy. Our room was on the second floor with a view of the pool area. The room and bathroom were very clean and we were happy with everything. The bed was firm but comfortable none the less. There are fancier hotels in Banff but I would recommend Rundlestone based on location and a great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff
Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.