We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A RELAXING STAY IN BANFF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“WHAT A RELAXING STAY IN BANFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

So glad that we booked this property for our tour in Alberta Rockies! This was a cosy chalet style hotel that had that ski lodge feel about it! Staff were most accommodating and professional. Our rooms were lovely and most enjoyed the pool/hot tub area after a day of hiking! Great location if you dont mind a stroll down the road to grab dinner or shop. Free bicycles offered if you wish to cycle around town however we always strolled down the strip for some dinner after a soak in the pool and hot tub. Laundry facilities were useful for us after having dirty hiking clothes. The on site restaurant was not good...poor service...better to seek out the many dining choices on thes strip that suits your needs. Free underground parking...we had a relaxing time while staying here!

Room Tip: We booked ahead on Expedia and received a good rate...looked to be at full capacity in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    323
    91
    31
    15
See reviews for
177
369
22
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Rundlestone. We stayed here for 3 nights. The room was a good size. I liked that the hotel catered for travellers with additional personal touches, such as the use of DVDs, a printer, a coin laundry, etc. The downstairs garage provided ample parking, and must be of real benefit in the winter. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the town centre and its number of restaurants. If I were to travel to Banff again I would book this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I spent one night here while making a brief stop-over on our way west to BC. Because we took a room that looked onto the indoor pool instead of outside we enjoyed a very reasonable rate for Banff. The absence of a view was no problem and the room was large clean and updated with Wifi, large screen flat TV, and a fridge was provided free upon request. Amenities included a pool, exercise room, guest laundry, covered underground parking, restaurant (not used), nice lobby with fireplace and seating area. Location on the main street is convenient but a little far to walk to "downtown" Banff. No breakfast was included. Would recommend for a short visit to Banff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at Rundlestone 3 nights because my Dad had been stayed there on previous occasions. The hotel was everything we had hoped for. I downgraded the sleep quality only because the bed and I did not get along. My husband, who has longstanding back problems, thought the bed was heavenly. For whatever reason, the mattress and I did not get along. Each morning my back became progressively worse and after the 3rd night I not functioning well, unable to walk "normally", was taking anti-inflammatories and couldn't help my husband with luggage.

The restaurant currently there has only been open for a few years. My Dad raved about the prior restaurant so this one was a disappointment and, to my opinion, doesn't do the hotel justice. Our meal was mediocre so we did not return during our stay.

We would highly recommend this hotel. It is away from downtown Banff, but close enough to walk, take a shuttle or a short drive. The mattress/bad back was specific to me and I could not discourage anyone from trying this beautiful hotel. The pool and spa are heavenly.

Room Tip: Loved having a room on the 2nd floor that looked out to Mt. Rundle. Traffic noise was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Like a lot of hotels on the main strip in Banff, this is relatively fancy, but the Trip Advisor price we managed to get made this a great deal for us. The staff were friendly and helpful, and after staying in much less elaborate places elsewhere in BC, my wife and I really enjoyed the facilities of the hotel, such as the health club and the public rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Check in was slow. Only one member of staff at the desk who was struggling to check in a German couple who didn't speak English.
We had the 'seperate sleeper room' as we were travelling with my sister and her boyfriend and trying to save the cost of 2 rooms. There was an ice bucket in one room and the coffee maker in the other. It was a bit weird going into their room to make the coffee in the morning whilst they were still asleep!
I have no real complaints about the Hotel itself but the 'Bistro' leaves a lot to be desired. We took one look at the menu, laughed at the prices and went to Chilli's in a neighbouring hotel. When we returned we thought we'd have a night cap. Sadly the bar shut at 10pm and the bar tender we had spotted earlier was sat at the bar with a glass of wine in her hand!
Not much else to say, I doubt we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda Cynon Taf, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed for three nights at this hotel on a tour from Calgary to Vancouver, arrived late afternoon and rooms were all ready had already eaten so did not try restaurant.First night was spoiled by a very noisy generator outside room so didn't get a very good nights sleep. Asked the following morning to change room and was told that it would be no problem all I had to do was to leave my luggage outside the room and they would get them moved to a new room. This happened without any grief and the new room was perfect. Hotel on the main drag into Banff and plenty of restaurants on the way.Free coffee in the hotel reception most of the day and also free internet access on computers in the reception area a boon if you have no laptop with you. All in all a very good hotel helpful staff and great location

Room Tip: dont have 142
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.