We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great time at the Rundlestone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Aurora, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Another great time at the Rundlestone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This lodge has the friendliest staff that I have ever dealt with. They call you by your name, are always friendly and always ask how you are doing and ask if you require anything. The rooms are spacious and the suite has a giant jacuzzi and a fireplace. They are spotless and smell good.
The restaurant Toulouloos has fantastic food and great service. The owner, Steve, also gets to know you and the staff, morning and night are very friendly.
Great resort for a relaxing and friendly time.

Room Tip: My room was on the third floor with a pretty good view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    299
    85
    31
    13
See reviews for
163
351
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

Rundlestone Lodge 29-31 Dec , 2011 - well presented, well maintained and friendly. The open fire in the reception area is a real feature - we grabbed a bottle of Baileys and spent a couple of hours before we headed into Banff town centre for New Years celebrations. The rooms are bigger than some 'country' hotels and are well maintained, good facilities and whilst the air conditioning was a bit hot when we arrived, it quickly adjusted and was quiet. Parking in the basement was free and it was good to get into a 'warm' car - it was -8C on the streets. The parking lot is a bit tight and some drivers are not thoughtful of others which makes for some tricky parking maneuvers at times. Check in and check out was friendly fast and efficient. About 1 mile, 1.6km from the town centre, it is a nit out of what is going on but this was not a hassle.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We enjoyed a large, modern, clean room. Staff were friendly and the restaurant was well worth patronising. Breakfast was not brilliant but not bad. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a front room. Many of these have balconies and, although these are on the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Loved it! We were looking for a cozy romantic getaway and Rundlestone was the perfect place! The rooms were very clean and modern. The beds were really comfortable and the room we were in had a fantastic jacuzzi and fire place! The main lobby also has a large fireplace that we enjoyed and we were pleasantly surprised to find the large hot tub and pool area! Staff were very friendly and the location was perfect to walk to shops and restaurants. Would definately recommend staying here if you are heading to Banff!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Upon arrival, we drove into the underground garage as instructed on the sign by the front door of the hotel. The 'warning bar' was damaged ( which we did not notice) and was actually missing. We entered through the garage door with no problem but as we advanced through the underground to seek an open space, we suddenly heard a dreadful noise. Yes, we had hit an overhead, very low lying, concrete structural support beam. It tore off the roof rack and destroyed one of our ski binders. Wonderful. Ruined our 3 day ski trip as we spent most of the following days renting a set of skis, trying to get the broken binder repaired, and as our roof rack was now useless, we had to try to get all 4 sets of skis and poles into the car, together with the 4 passengers. We proceeded to check in and the girl at the check in desk was arrogant and rude when we mentioned what had happened. A sympathetic ear would have gone a long way, not the ' attitude' and the ' I don't have the time to listen to YOU' approach. We would never stay there again, not because of the damage to our car which we feel strongly was totally avoidable with some clearer warning signs; but because of the dreadful attitude of the front desk staff member. That's all it takes for a person to look elsewhere on the next trip. As we live in Calgary, we frequently drive up to the mountains and enjoy staying over the weekend or for a few days here and there. We will never stay in Rundlestone Lodge again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. I regret the incident which occurred and am are deeply disappointed that your ski trip to Banff was less than satisfactory. The height clearance for vehicles is clearly signed (Maximum vehicle height of 6’4”) at the entrance to the underground parking lot, and the warning structure is not damaged. The chain links that hang down are meant to create noise if the vehicle is too high to fit in the parkade. (There is not meant to be a bar that hangs across the warning structure.) There is an additional metal bar inside the underground parkade to further warn our customers if their vehicle is too high. The lowest point in our underground parking area is 6’5”, which is the concrete structural support beam sited in your review.
Understandably the incident was distressing and I'm sorry you felt the service received at check-in was unsatisfactory. We have addressed this matter with our customer service representatives and we will endeavour to provide all of our customers with exemplary service in the future.
We value the feedback received and, as such, will be reviewing the possibility of creating additional steps to further warn our customers regarding vehicle height restrictions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed here December 26,27, 2011. Very impressed with the room for the price. $130 Cdn (including all taxes) for a king size bed. Very quiet room. TV was great and free DVD rentals were a nice touch. Underground heated parking was a plus especially for winter. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

This hotel was super awesome with a wicked friendly staff and super clean rooms it was great. We stayed for a week in our kitchenette and loved it. Close to downtown but not too close that we were bombarded with heavy traffic. Lots of space in the rooms and comfy beds. The fire place was a wonderful touch. Loved the underground parking too! Over all it was a great hotel and we will definitely being staying there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.