We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it so much” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Banff
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved it so much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

we had a great stay here at the lodge in a Jacuzzi room with open fire place. So comfy and romantic. Sad to say goodby after just spending a couple of nights. Great location,within easy walking to shops,eateries and all facilities.

Room Tip: Fantastic spa rooms-worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    272
    83
    30
    13
See reviews for
156
319
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wesley Chapel, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed at the Rundlestone the last week in May 2011. Enjoyed everything about the place. The rooms were spacious and clean with comfortable beds, flat screen televisions. The place has free indoor parking, free wi-fi and a very good restaurant. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is good, just down the street from downtown which makes it quieter.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front above the first floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Although not right downtown, it is a comfortable walking distance. We used the bikes at the lodge to go back and forth.
We enjoyed our stay here very much. The lodge was very quiet at night which provided a good night's sleep.
There is a restaurant on the premises but it is owned separately. We ate there 1 morning because of the convenience. You can find a cheaper breakfast with more choices off site but it was fine.
Would recommend the Rundlestone Lodge to anyone and would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Watch prices online. The rate dropped after we had booked and Rundlestone met the lowest rate we saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

The lodge was very nice. However, our room overlooked the indoor pool, and it was very dark. I would recommend asking for a room with a balcony. It was not crowded, and I think we should have had a better room. Although the restaurant was more expensive than others in the area, the food was very good. The service was wonderful. The lodge is close to many shops if one likes to shop. We do not, but we enjoyed the Bow River.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Very nice hotel, but make sure that reception doesn't give you the rooms overlooking the indoor pool. Children are yelling, running, making bombs, the window cannot be opened so there is no fresh air and the rooms are very hot. The male receptionist refused to give us other rooms although we offered money for an upgrading. He said that the hotel was fully booked. As we had reserved quiet rooms we asked to speak to the manager. First this was refused, but when we insisted and didn't go back to our rooms the receptionist made a telephone call. The manager offered quiet rooms without extra payment (as should be done in the first place!).

Room Tip: See remark above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I was visiting Banff solo)between visiting friends in Calgary and Vancouver) in the off-season (early/mid May) and spent two nights here. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the town centre, where most of the good restaurants and bars are and the best shopping is, but the hotel is in a cluster of other hotels on the east side, and easy to find if coming off Highway 1 from the east (from Calgary). The room I found was very large, very clean, but don't expect mountain vistas - like most hotels along the strip, it's low rise and simple. The underground parking was free and easy to use, two separate elevators take you from the garage close to your room.

I found service to be very friendly and the reception staff very approachable and helpful when finding a good place to eat or drink (especially solo). I was pleased with the pub recommendation (St. James Gate), and Banff has a cheap public bus system that shuttles from the hotels to the town centre.

The restaurant was closed for renovations (it was the off-season, after all, but it was open for breakfast, but I didn't use it).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We were excited to stay here and had made a reservation based on the picture of the room on the hotel website. Big mistake. We booked a king fireplace jaccuzi room. Warning- If you stay here make specific requests regarding your room. We did not have a lovely cathedral ceiling in our room as seen in the website photo- it was a regular ceiling- the effect was a very closed in effect The worst part was that the room was at the side of the building and our view was the building next door so we had to have our drapes closed all the time. We felt so claustraphobic that we ended up going to the lobby to sit and read. Thge chairs were cozy but the lobby was noisy and gusts of cigarette smoke from people waiting for cars came in the door. Although we were on a non-smoking room (floor?) on the morning of our departure we could smell cigarette smoke in our room- whether it was from another floor or venting from outside we had no idea but it was unpleasant.
The hotel is clean and the staff pleasant and helpful but I think we'll go elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: CONFIRM special details
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.