We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed-” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rundlestone Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rundlestone Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rundlestone Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Banff
victoria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed-”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We were excited to stay here and had made a reservation based on the picture of the room on the hotel website. Big mistake. We booked a king fireplace jaccuzi room. Warning- If you stay here make specific requests regarding your room. We did not have a lovely cathedral ceiling in our room as seen in the website photo- it was a regular ceiling- the effect was a very closed in effect The worst part was that the room was at the side of the building and our view was the building next door so we had to have our drapes closed all the time. We felt so claustraphobic that we ended up going to the lobby to sit and read. Thge chairs were cozy but the lobby was noisy and gusts of cigarette smoke from people waiting for cars came in the door. Although we were on a non-smoking room (floor?) on the morning of our departure we could smell cigarette smoke in our room- whether it was from another floor or venting from outside we had no idea but it was unpleasant.
The hotel is clean and the staff pleasant and helpful but I think we'll go elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: CONFIRM special details
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    282
    85
    31
    13
See reviews for
160
332
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roxby Downs, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

On arrival we were met by a friendly staff member. He helped us with things to do and recommended places to eat. We had a standard room which was quiet and comfortable but the window view was to the indoor pool. The restaurant had great food and a friendly (talkative) waitress, which was good as she gave us direction to Calgary Airport. The only downside was the distance to the main part of town. The Lodge is on the main street of Banff but is a good 10 minute walk to the town centre. We hired a car when we got into town and then the problem vanished. There is free underground (secure) parking at the Lodge. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhanson@usao.edu
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at the Rundlestone Lodge the last week of May while vacationing in Banff.
Due to airline cancellations, we were unable to make our flight connection and had to change our plans at the last minute with the Lodge. The staff were more than happy to help with the necessary changes with no additional charges.
Upon arrival and throughout our stay, the staff continued to be helpful in assisting us with many requests. We asked about a fridge in our room, and even though there was none and fees are usually charged to have one delivered (no problem!), a fridge was delivered to our room before in less than 10 minutes---and with no charges!
Time and time again during our four-day stay, the staff was very kind and truly worked hard to make our stay comfortable and fun! The lodge is not large and the rooms as well as all facilities are kept clean and in order. We did not have the opportunity to eat in the on-site restaurant, but the staff did allow us access to a microwave, which came in handy and also provided a kettle for our room (tea, etc). There is a comprehensive list of DVD's and a "sharing library" (books) available for guests and DVD players are available in each room. No issues with WI-FI (free).....
Location: the lodge is about 10-15 minute walk to "town" and there is a "green" fleet of bus-vans that you can board just outside of the lodge (exact change/Canadian), if you wish to go further (Sulphur Mountain, etc). There is a Safeway close by where you can stock up on food and supplies, if needed.
Our room was very quiet and there was a small balcony. The view and fresh mountain air was very, very nice.
Stay here! The staff will do their best to help you in any way!

Room Tip: Call the Lodge directly for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Rundlestone Lodge in Banff in May 2011.
It was easy to find along the main road and had heaps of under ground parking for the hire car!
The service upon checking was a little cold and seemed liek the girl had had a long day- as had we... SO we expected a bit more of a greeting.
The room was lovely with a small balcony looking out to a mountain and a small park. It was a lovely quiet location. The bed was comfy and the room clean and tidy- I loved the hollywood mirror!
The only downfall of the room was no fridge or hairdrier, so it was hard to keep any drinks, fruit etc cold in the room.

We used the restaurant for dinner on our first night, the service was once again cold and nearly non existant, but the food was yummy.

Over our 2 night stay the service warmed up at the front desk, and by the end of it was friendly, but nothing special.

We loved Banff, and would stay again if we make it back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RundlestoneFOM, Front Office Manager at Rundlestone Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for your lovely comments about the room and on-site parking. We agree - fridges are handy to have in the rooms and are currently working towards adding them to all our guest rooms! May I politely add all guest rooms have hair-dryers.
I was happy to hear your experience with the Front Desk staff improved during your stay, but I was sorry we didn't provide as-warm-a-welcome as was expected on your arrival - especially after a long day. Please accept my apologies! Your feedback is most helpful and I will be sharing it with my staff to ensure each guest is treated with the warm welcome they deserve on arrival.
From reading your other reviews, it sounds like you had a great trip overall, I'm glad we were part of it and look forward to warmly welcoming you back should you return to Banff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of a tour of the Rockies. We were made to feel very welcome by the Reception Staff, who were also very helpful with all the questions we needed to ask. Rooms were very clean and quiet, with all the amenities required on a touring holiday. An excellent start to our tour!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I have just read a negative review of the Rundlestone Lodge, and could not believe what I was reading! We stayed there (our fourth visit to the hotel) in April. We were warmly welcomed by the staff at the front desk, and all information was couteously explained. We too were asked for a damage deposit, and had no problems understanding that it was standard policy and in no way a suggestion that we might vandalise the room or the hotel. There is no doubt that on occasions the staff on duty may well have spent their leisure time sk`iing - but why would young people not enjoy the wonders of skiing in these particularly stunning mountains? Although we ourselves are no longer in the first flush of youth, we too often returned to the hotel after an exhilarating day on the slopes! At no stage was anyone during our lengthy stay wearing ski clothes behind the desk - evidence of skiing seemed to consist largely of quite impressive goggle tans.

As for comments about the price and distance from town - all these are explicit on the website, and price comparisons with other hotels can easily be made at the time of booking. Even standard rooms had a very clear note on the coffee maker that kettles were available on request. Indeed anything and everything that we asked for was promptly dealt with by the front desk, and delivered with impressive speed by house keeping staff.

We left the Rundlestone Lodge impressed that the young front of house staff had done much through their high standards of courtesy and helpfulness to restore our faith in a younger generation who all too often get a negative press.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I booked over the internet based on Trip Advisor reviews. The reception was staffed by and young "dude" staright off the ski slopes. He was just too cool to be professional. A 60 year old couple, we were told that we would have to provide a $150 surety for the room in case of any vandalism. His manner was VERY poor.
The room had no refrigerator and had not been serviced properly - no soap; but I guess we did not request one of their better rooms. The motel is long walk (1.5km) to town.. The room had good wifi and free parking.
A nearby Best and Western was half the price with a refigerator, free parking, free wifi, breakfast inc for half the price and it was only 500m from town - it most likely provided soap too. The staff also smiled.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rundlestone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundlestone Lodge

Address: 537 Banff Avenue | P.O. Box 489, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rundlestone Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, swimming pool, conference facilities, and Bumpers the Beef House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Rundlestone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundlestone Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundlestone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;