We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Street Tavern

The Bear Street Tavern
211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-762-2021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub, Family Fare, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Brigantine, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed an awesome dinner here during our Rockies vacation. We actually did take out and enjoyed two different pizzas as well as the pulled pork nachos. While we waited for our food to be prepared, we decided to have a few pints at the bar. The place is very upbeat, friendly staff with a great craft beer selection. Despite the restaurant being pretty busy, our food was ready pretty quickly. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a casual meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    152
    47
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great pizza and Beer. Waitress was really nice. Went back two nights in a row. Don't have much more to say but this review wants more words in order to submit, so I am filing it this way lol

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Half the menu is unavailable after 4pm.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Went to this pub the other day with a bunch of girlfriends.
They had a good-sized pizza menu which was nice but half of the menu was unavailable after 4pm.
Apparently sandwiches of any kind are unavailable after 4 which meant some of our party had no meal options and therefore didn't eat or drink (besides water).
Service was so-so.
The pizza that some girls had was super-thin crust and skimpy on toppings but on the positive side they had gluten-free items.
Won't be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Unreal pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We hit this place early on Saturday night of Thanksgiving weekend. Tried and failed to get in on the Friday so thought we should try again. We'll worth it. Salad and pizzas were great along with local micro brews and other assorted drinks. Apple crumble is excellent. Sat at the bar and was thoroughly entertained by hockey loving bartender. Eat here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great reasonable food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went early in the evening and got a cosy booth for two.my husband had the creole gumbo and really enjoyed it.I had the macaroni and cheese it was very tasty.The place was full of locals which is usually a good sign.It can be very expensive to eat in Banff this is a great place to save a few dollars and still get good food quality.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Street Tavern also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bear Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Street Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.