We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, price and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Street Tavern

The Bear Street Tavern
211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-2021
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, price and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wait staff friendly and helpful. We sat out on the patio which had a excellent atmosphere. Good variety of high quality pizzas and salads with daily specials.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    150
    95
    31
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yummy Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place has the best pizza in town! We tried ours deep dish, which was a real treat. Also try the beer sampler or the sangria punch bowl. Great place for a casual dinner!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Busy Night at Bear Street Tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Following a day of driving the Bow Valley Parkway and the Icefields Parkway, I needed to stretch my legs, so I made the short walk from my hotel, stopped in at the Banff Safeway, did a little souvenir shopping on Banff Avenue and wrapped up my evening at Bear Street Tavern. This charming spot came highly recommended by my hotel and I can see why.

Given that it was Sunday night of the Labor Day weekend, the place was jammed with people, but the staff could not have been more accommodating. As a lone traveler, I am more than happy to have a spot found for me at the bar, which is precisely what happened. The patio looked appealing in the waning summer light, but the 1+ hour wait for a table there just didn't fit with my plans. What is important to me is that the staff made me aware of the options and the timetable for each.

My waitress was delightfully cheery and patient as she explained the evening's specials, taking extra time to precisely describe "bison donair" and make it seem reasonable that one would put that on a pizza - together with shredded lettuce and a drizzle of sweet garlic sauce. The bow on this present of a meal was when she brought my bison donair pizza accompanied by a squeeze bottle of honey and a bottle of red chili oil - to be mixed together and used for dipping the pizza - to "bring out the flavors." And she was right!

Even though the restaurant stayed packed through my meal, never did I feel rushed or neglected. My drink glasses were readily replenished and every courtesy was offered.

This is definitely a place I will visit again when I return to Banff!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Tourist Friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

After spending the day in Banff our group of four stopped here for dinner. One person in our group has dietary restrictions and wanted to special order a pizza with ingredients that they had available for other menu pizza's. We were informed that the Bear Street Tavern does not do build your own pizza's. It was a simple request that any other restaurant would accommodate and the place was not even busy. We already had drinks and appetizers at the table otherwise we would have just left and gone somewhere else.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We ate here after our Lake Minnewanka Tour. The restaurant atmosphere was good and our waitress was friendly and patient.. Ihad great pulled pork nachos, my son had pulled pork fajitas which he said were excellent and my grand-daughter loved her mac&cheese. My husband ordered beef fajitas, after placing his order the server came back and told him there was not enough beef to make the fajitas and would he like to order something else, he stuck to the fajitas. When they arrived there was next to no beef and he refused to eat them as he said they were terrible. He was offered another meal but declined. He had misunderstood the waitress and thought they were going to cook more beef though the rest of us clearly understood that would not be the case. The manager came to the table to ask if they could get him something else but again he refused and asked to have it taken off his bill which they did. I felt they were very patient with him as they had advised him of the problem but he still ordered the meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Street Tavern also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bear Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Street Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.