We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious pizza and beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Street Tavern

The Bear Street Tavern
211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-762-2021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 131 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Pizza, Delicatessen, Italian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We went on Sunday- $10 pizzas and $9 steins. The pizza was fresh and flavorful and beer was great! Definitely good value and great food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adbagwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
st johns
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beer and pizza joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Loved the pizza, only one size, about 11". Thin crust, cooked perfect. Served with honey and hot chili sauce though we didn't use either. We split a pizza as we weren't very hungry. Two men would probably want their own pizza as three slices would not be enough. The Bison is upstairs which is a meat lovers paradise. Same owners run the Maple Leaf. Service was very, very good. Small establishment and a bit crowded but worth the effort. Definitely recommend on a visit to Banff

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tammy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Calzone with Honey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We piled in as a group of seven, and although we had to wait a while for a table, the food was excellent. Calzones were 10 dollars each, so we all went for different ones. It has to be said that I'd never considered honey on pizza, but it was pretty delicious. Empty plates all round.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I went here for cheap pizza night with a big group, we had a wonderful time but when our pizza came it was burnt. They took it off the bill but we didn't have time to get another so I left hungry. I loved the atmosphere and the server was very nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontariogirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Pricey pizza, but neat atmosphere and unique food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Bear Street Tavern offers a unique atmosphere and some cool pizza choices, and the fact that they give you chili oil and honey to douse your pizza in was both novel and awesome. We had a great dinner here with friends, but the food is pricey and isn't that much better than pizza at Boston Pizza or Dominos would be. Neat place in Banff though, and worth checking out if you're not concerned with "value".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USCTrojansFan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Street Tavern also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bear Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing