We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious pizza and beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Street Tavern

The Bear Street Tavern
211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-2021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went on Sunday- $10 pizzas and $9 steins. The pizza was fresh and flavorful and beer was great! Definitely good value and great food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    206
    133
    39
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
st johns
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great beer and pizza joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Loved the pizza, only one size, about 11". Thin crust, cooked perfect. Served with honey and hot chili sauce though we didn't use either. We split a pizza as we weren't very hungry. Two men would probably want their own pizza as three slices would not be enough. The Bison is upstairs which is a meat lovers paradise. Same owners run the Maple Leaf. Service was very, very good. Small establishment and a bit crowded but worth the effort. Definitely recommend on a visit to Banff

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Calzone with Honey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We piled in as a group of seven, and although we had to wait a while for a table, the food was excellent. Calzones were 10 dollars each, so we all went for different ones. It has to be said that I'd never considered honey on pizza, but it was pretty delicious. Empty plates all round.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheap pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I went here for cheap pizza night with a big group, we had a wonderful time but when our pizza came it was burnt. They took it off the bill but we didn't have time to get another so I left hungry. I loved the atmosphere and the server was very nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Pricey pizza, but neat atmosphere and unique food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Bear Street Tavern offers a unique atmosphere and some cool pizza choices, and the fact that they give you chili oil and honey to douse your pizza in was both novel and awesome. We had a great dinner here with friends, but the food is pricey and isn't that much better than pizza at Boston Pizza or Dominos would be. Neat place in Banff though, and worth checking out if you're not concerned with "value".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Street Tavern also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bear Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Street Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.