We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good family dinner after a day of skiing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Street Tavern

The Bear Street Tavern
211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-762-2021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub, Family Fare, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A good family dinner after a day of skiing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We just happened to walk by this restaurant and walked in. We were greeted with a smile and seated right away. The food was good, service very pleasant. My kids liked the pizzas and bison meatballs. I loved the rose sangria...had 2 large glasses it was so delicious! The salads are big portions and are shareable. We shared the banana split and of course enjoyed it! Great place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    151
    47
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went here for dinner and was seated straight away, can't fault the service, the food was amazing and came quickly, great atmosphere and so cheap compared to Australian pub prices

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Favorite Resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Bear Street Tavern is our new favorite!

Great atmosphere, friendly service, and delicious food!

The ceasers are the best in town and I'd say the pizza is probably the best too!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Probably won't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We selected this restaurant based upon an internet sites suggested dining spots. The first night we tried to dine here, the wait was so long, we just made reservations for the next night. We went the next night and were seated promptly. We found the menu to be limited. We ordered pizzas and mac and cheese (one of their specialties, we heard). The Mac and Cheese was so bland, the worst I have ever had. It looked good, but no taste. The pizzas were all so salty!!! And I like salt, but they were too salty for me. We won't go back. There are other places in town with wonderful pizza, you don't need to go here for pizza.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our favourite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My huband and I love this place. They have a good selection of beer (not just your standard Coors and Bud) and some of the best pizza I've ever had. It's a relaxed atmosphere. Great place to drop in for just a drink or for lunch/dinner.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Street Tavern also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bear Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Street Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.