We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Street Tavern

The Bear Street Tavern
211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-2021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 123 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Cleethorpes, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

After a day boarding all we wanted was a laid back atmosphere and a beer. The place was busy so we sat on the high tables near the bar. Customer service was fantastic, pizza was tasty, we got two pizzas between the two of us so we could half of each. Try the local beers! Enjoyed watching the game whilst eating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    203
    133
    39
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Medicine hat
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ridiculously Good Pizza - a crazy understatement!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

After a great day on the hill we were looking for some pizza. After some asking of the locals we were told to head to the Bear Street Tavern. Mondays offer 10 dollar pizzas and cheap beer. The place was packed and so we sat at the bar but it was good with lots of space per person so you didn't feel crowded. Ryan our bartender/server was very attentive and all around great. We tried some of his favorites as far as pizza goes and I am glad we did. The pizza is the best pizza I have ever had.....bar none!! Service was great, food was great, and beer was better!! Will be back every time I get to Banff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Saw the good reviews and thought we would give it a try. Tried on 3 different days to get in, but they were full, so we thought it must be good. When we did get in, the food was average, The service was good though. Probably won't be going back though.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Deals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Can't beat the deals here.

Many a Sunday I will make my way to the tavern to get my fix of fantastic pizza and a stein of exquisite beer.

The only downside is it can get rather cramped in the tiny dining room.

Otherwise highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“different deals every day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We went there on Monday night as had read a review on ta for $10 pizza. They have different pizzas on offer each Monday night, this week there were four - we had a classic and a donair, both delicious especially with the chilli and honey sauces. Canmore bottled beers were well priced so all in all a really good deal. Busy place, attentive server, didnt feel rushed like that but a large turnover of customers. Different deals each night, definitely worth a visit, worth every buck.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Street Tavern also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bear Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Street Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.