We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Street Tavern

The Bear Street Tavern
211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-762-2021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 127 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub, Family Fare, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Babylon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Deals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Can't beat the deals here.

Many a Sunday I will make my way to the tavern to get my fix of fantastic pizza and a stein of exquisite beer.

The only downside is it can get rather cramped in the tiny dining room.

Otherwise highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    161
    48
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“different deals every day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We went there on Monday night as had read a review on ta for $10 pizza. They have different pizzas on offer each Monday night, this week there were four - we had a classic and a donair, both delicious especially with the chilli and honey sauces. Canmore bottled beers were well priced so all in all a really good deal. Busy place, attentive server, didnt feel rushed like that but a large turnover of customers. Different deals each night, definitely worth a visit, worth every buck.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good pizza in casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have eaten here a few times now and it has become our go-to pizza place when in Banff. Although it is a tavern it is very family friendly with tables in the rear. The pizzas are a good size with interesting combinations and fairly reasonably priced. Some servers are better than others- one gal was definitely more interested in getting people (guys) to look at her than serving the food - but others have been very friendly and efficient. I understand the Bison restaurant upstairs is very good as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“So so bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Not a local in Banff , just a tourist and the service showed. This is my third visit to Banff in a year , 12th visit in the last 8 years and by far the bear street tavern has the best pizza in town , so why the bad review???? . No problem with the pizza ,food great as usual , great offer on the beer , service great until ......whilst I was still eating my pizza , my wife was asked not ONCE, but TWICE if she wanted to see the desert menu,talk about feeling rushed. It was made clear they wanted our table..... Our bill was $60.00 for two pizza , one beer and one pop , expect better service for this price, and we paid the bill , and left for desert elsewhere!!!!!!'
Have eaten here at Least six times in the last year ,but this might be the last !!!!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“amazing pizza & drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We came here on reccommendation of our taxi driver. We sat at the bar, as it was extremely busy. Our bartender Matt really took care of us, pizzas were to-die-for, and the cocktails and shots were delicious.We made new friends with everyone sitting up at the bar, fun was had by all. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Street Tavern also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bear Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Street Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.