We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Street Tavern

The Bear Street Tavern
211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-762-2021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 131 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Pizza, Delicatessen, Italian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Babylon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Deals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Can't beat the deals here.

Many a Sunday I will make my way to the tavern to get my fix of fantastic pizza and a stein of exquisite beer.

The only downside is it can get rather cramped in the tiny dining room.

Otherwise highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Morkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
cornwall uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“different deals every day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We went there on Monday night as had read a review on ta for $10 pizza. They have different pizzas on offer each Monday night, this week there were four - we had a classic and a donair, both delicious especially with the chilli and honey sauces. Canmore bottled beers were well priced so all in all a really good deal. Busy place, attentive server, didnt feel rushed like that but a large turnover of customers. Different deals each night, definitely worth a visit, worth every buck.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vicsoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good pizza in casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have eaten here a few times now and it has become our go-to pizza place when in Banff. Although it is a tavern it is very family friendly with tables in the rear. The pizzas are a good size with interesting combinations and fairly reasonably priced. Some servers are better than others- one gal was definitely more interested in getting people (guys) to look at her than serving the food - but others have been very friendly and efficient. I understand the Bison restaurant upstairs is very good as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coffee522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“So so bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Not a local in Banff , just a tourist and the service showed. This is my third visit to Banff in a year , 12th visit in the last 8 years and by far the bear street tavern has the best pizza in town , so why the bad review???? . No problem with the pizza ,food great as usual , great offer on the beer , service great until ......whilst I was still eating my pizza , my wife was asked not ONCE, but TWICE if she wanted to see the desert menu,talk about feeling rushed. It was made clear they wanted our table..... Our bill was $60.00 for two pizza , one beer and one pop , expect better service for this price, and we paid the bill , and left for desert elsewhere!!!!!!'
Have eaten here at Least six times in the last year ,but this might be the last !!!!!

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“amazing pizza & drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We came here on reccommendation of our taxi driver. We sat at the bar, as it was extremely busy. Our bartender Matt really took care of us, pizzas were to-die-for, and the cocktails and shots were delicious.We made new friends with everyone sitting up at the bar, fun was had by all. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cori84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Street Tavern also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bear Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing