We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Calzone's Tuesday nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Street Tavern

The Bear Street Tavern
211 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-2021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Banff National Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy Calzone's Tuesday nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Tuesday special at the Bear St Tavern is $10 calzone's. yum yum. According to my 13 yo boy, best pizza ever! The fillings were big, fresh and oh so tasty and served with a salad. Service was great. Loads of choices of beers, wines and cocktails. Great atmosphere. Think about booking as very busy. We were lucky to just drop in and get a seat at the bar, but that was fine. Highly recommend the Calzones on the Tuesday nights. They have specials most evenings so check them out for great food on a budget. Value for money.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    137
    42
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Pizza Night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

All I can say is that you need to visit the Bear St Tavern on a Monday for their $10 pizza night! You must mix the honey and chili oil on the pizza! Best combination ever!! they are geniuses.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food, but doesn't stand out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went to Bear Street Tavern for a late lunch during the Bon Appetit Food Festival. Although my Shrimp Jambalaya and White Chocolate Bread Pudding were delicious, it doesn't stand out in our trip to Banff. Service was average, the entrees didn't dazzle (though I enjoyed the appetizers and desserts). It wasn't bad by any meals, but perhaps I expected more.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for a bite in Banff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Enjoyed our Monday night meal here! Chose it because it was child friendly and we could bring our three month old along. The $10 pizza selection sweetened the deal. Would definitely rerun to try some of the other varieties which sounded delectable!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good menu and great cocktails!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a lovely evening in this tavern/bar. We were lucky it was Calzone specials night, all pizzas turned into a Calzone plus cocktails were reduced. All added to a great evening, with full stomachs and blurred vision. Friendly staff and fast service

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Street Tavern also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bear Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Street Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.