We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Voluptouous Treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaver Tails

Beaver Tails
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1E7, Canada
403-760-0606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 125 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Bakery
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Gaffney, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a Voluptouous Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you've not had one, you HAVE to try one. Get there early as the line can be quite long. If you have to stand in line it gives you time to try and decide just which one you want. There is no describing this treat - just go and get one!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    57
    15
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Gotta love them!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Top notch customer service - staff was great on consecutive days we enjoyed our Beaver Tails! Having enjoyed them on numerous occasions in Ottawa, we were delighted to find them in Banff, and was not sure it was possible, but they were even better in Banff!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Don't let the name fool you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beaver Tails is a delicious dessert cafe. Indulge in a cinnamon covered fried pastry, or load up with cream cheese and caramel topping. The strawberry sorbet was delicious and a nice alternative to the high calorie beaver tail. But you need to have at least one pastry if you go to Banff. This is the closest thing to a malasada from Hawaii that I have found. Good enough we went back the next day for seconds!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“why not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

As a tourist you have got to try these things right!
They were happy to indulge us with an enthusiastic explanation of what a beaver tail was (even thou it was probably the100th for the day!).
Sure, it was all fat and sugar .... but we had one !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Treat yourself!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

we wandered into this little clean cute place to kinda check it out; to come back later; the owner Eric told us all about The Beaver Tails; he was so nice to spend that time with us and what we said was" we will be back"; we wanted to go back after dinner with our husbands; So after dinner we went back!! OMG is was so so good; Eric was still there and the young man making the tails; they were so patient with us there was so much to choose from; and a LINE was forming We loved our Beaver tails and loved the staff!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaver Tails also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Beaver Tails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaver Tails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.