We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaver Tails

Beaver Tails
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1E7, Canada
403-760-0606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 125 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Bakery
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Yummm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I read about this place on Trip Advisor and decided to try it since we were walking by it while downtown the first night. WOW! We loved it! The cinnamon and sugar was great as well as the chocolate with powdered sugar. That was all we tried because we liked these so much. We had one for desert each night we were there. They were that good. The help was very friendly too. I am hoping they will catch on in the U.S. and we will see franchises here sometime!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    57
    15
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Royalton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Fried Dough Snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place serves fried dough in the shape of a beaver tail with an endless choice of toppings. If you need ice cream or gelato they have that as well. Service is nice and they stay open till everyone is served

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sweet treat, gotta try once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Beaver tails are a fried pastry dough, flat and the size of a sub sandwitch, topped with sugar & toppings of your choice. Beaver tails are a specialty of this place. Chocolate banana topping has to be the best, and manageable. Apple cinammon topping was delicious but hard to control, got messy.

They have no place to sit, you have to go outside. That's the only drawback.

They have ice cream and hot dog etc. but the attraction is the beaver tails. We enjoyed the beaver tails. It's worth trying once.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What's all the fuss?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Having heard rave reviews of Beaver Tails, we finally had a chance to try them in Banff. There was no lineup, which surprised me. The servers weren't particularly eager to attend, but no serious issue. We took the chocolate and banana tails. They cost around $7-8 depending on what you choose. Average sums up my impression taste-wise. A trace on the soggy side from the deep frying. I've tried one, probably wouldn't feel the urge to get another.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“No tails unless its Beaver treats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is special . I believe it originated from the French Canadian
It's worth a bite and forget about the calories unless you have been climbing the Rockies all day. Their tasty so is their gelato
Patrons seem to love their pontine as well. It's a take out so no sitting except on the Main Street. at times there's a line up but everyone is there with excitement to order. Everyone should do this once even if you think you would not like beaver tail. Prices for tail are around 6-10.00 depending on what you order
Anyone I know has never been disappointed and its something the whole family can share with a Canadian flair.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaver Tails also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Beaver Tails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaver Tails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.