We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This even smells like a German Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhaus Restaurant

Waldhaus Restaurant
Fairmont Banff Springs | Separate Location From Banff Springs Hotel, Off Property, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J4, Canada (Formerly Waldhaus Pub)
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $41
Cuisines: German, Swiss, European, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray rivers, you will find our Bavarian cottage-style Waldhaus Restaurant. Feast on a hearty menu featuring authentic Alpine cuisine, including Schnitzel and Fondue, in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage. Dark wood paneling, a large fireplace, and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection, set the tone for a memorable dining experience in our "House in the Forest".
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“This even smells like a German Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have been going to Banff since I was this high, and never knew of this off Banff Springs campus restaurant. If I had golfed at the Banff Springs, then I would have known. The restaurant is about a 5 minute walk down many stairs (remember that you have to walk back up!) and is worth every step. When we arrived on Boxing Day night, the place was wall to wall sweaters. It took a few reorganization attempts of the bar seating to get all of our family together, but it was fun while we did. The staff were swamped, but you could not tell by their attitude; it was like we were the only ones in the place. The wings are to kill for. People come on wing night and if they cannot find a table, will sit on the floor wanting to eat the wings. We had a variety of food items and all was good, especially the vegetarian burgers. The onion rings could put A&W out of business. My dish was just a little over done and that is why I could not give this a 5 star. German beer was great. If I lived in the area, I am sure I would be there every week. When in Banff, make the trip to this well run restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at the Waldhaus Pub. We definitely have the best wings in town and we were just voted the "Best Wings of the Bow Valley" by Mountain FM. We are so glad you were able to find at seat and enjoy the amazing ambiance and we hope that you come back soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    54
    17
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unexpected generosity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The staff went out of their way to help us salvage an almost disasterous couple of days. Food, service and and incredible atmosphere.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your experience at the Waldhaus. We are so glad we could turn your experience around and create lasting memories! We will ensure we pass your wonderful comments to the service and culinary teams. Thank you again and we hope you visit the Waldhaus again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Food was very good, and the service was fantastic. I'm not a huge fan of German cuisine however really enjoyed it and the staff was so attentive. Would definitely recommend it. Enjoyed the fondue as an appetizer for our group, would highly recommend it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your dinner at the Waldhaus. We pride ourselves on professional and attentive service and so glad that you received both! We will make sure to pass your comments along to the colleagues at the Waldhaus. Hopefully we will see you soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent views and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Waldhaus has unbelievable views up the Spray River and is just down the hill from the Banff Springs Hotel. Their food is very good and the atmosphere inside is great. Their patio is one of my favorite places to go in the summer for an outdoor dinner.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about the Waldhaus. It is a hidden gem here in Banff and we are so glad that the Locals enjoy it as much as the Hotel Guests! We hope to see you again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Loved it, but too bad it closed for the season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It closes for the season the end of October until the end of November. IT has the best prices and portions of any place at the hotel. I liked that it was just away from the hotel Made it seem secluded. The staff wouldn't turn the tvs from the football game to the Oilers hockey game.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we do apologize for any inconvenience the seasonal closure may have caused you. We are glad that you enjoy the Waldhaus so much and we hope that you join us on November 27th when the Waldhaus reopens with Wing Wednesday!!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldhaus Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Waldhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldhaus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.