We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhaus Restaurant

Waldhaus Restaurant
Fairmont Banff Springs | Separate Location From Banff Springs Hotel, Off Property, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J4, Canada (Formerly Waldhaus Pub)
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $21 - $43
Cuisines: European, German, Swiss, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray rivers, you will find our Bavarian cottage-style Waldhaus Restaurant. Feast on a hearty menu featuring authentic Alpine cuisine, including Schnitzel and Fondue, in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage. Dark wood paneling, a large fireplace, and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection, set the tone for a memorable dining experience in our "House in the Forest".
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellence in dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The restaurant is located below the Fairmont hotel in the original golf clubhouse looking over the 15th tee of the course.

Access to the restaurant is via a set of stairs out the back door of the hotel or via a shuttle bus which leaves from the pickup point in front of the hotel. My tip is to take the shuttle.

The attention to service is superb and each of the dishes is worth trying, so all in all a great experience. It could be a romantic experience but I think it is more urbane as the rooms are open and not really designed for romance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review about The Waldhaus Restaurant. We are so pleased that you enjoyed both the food and service. We hope you get the chance to visit us again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    49
    16
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect pub pretzel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

went to waldhaus pub downstairs from the resturant and it was great.all kinds of german beer selections this place is a real pub!all the staff were friendly.had the pretzels wrapped with speck and three types of mustard best pretzel i ever had too bad its so far away or i would be a weekly visitor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback about The Waldhaus Pub. We are very appreciative of your comments and will share them with the Pub Team! We are pleased that you found the service to be enjoyable and the pretzels delicious! Please do return again soon, we would be happy to welcome you back!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fondue fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Beautiful restaurant in an amazing setting with a lovely European Alps feel about it. Highly recommend the Fondue experience - so delicious and a fun way to share a meal with friends!
Bit of a dark walk back up the hill to the Fairmont, possibly made more difficult after a few ales!
Visited August 2010

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for you wonderful comments regarding the Waldhaus. We are so glad that you enjoyed the Fondue Experience and that you spent some quality time with friends! Please come back and visit soon . . . the Schnitzel is awesome too!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I walked down the many stairs to the bar. It was very cozy with good beer. Then it was a long walk back up. Most people take the shuttle.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for visiting all the way from Illinois! We are so glad glad that you enjoyed the many German beers we have on tap! We hope you visit again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Perfect Schitzel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Enjoyed a excellent meal in this hotel restaurant. Service is good, cocktails can take a while as they are claimed to come from the hotel bar some distance away. A place I'm likely to return to for another meal in Banff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience in the Waldhaus. We are so glad you enjoyed the Schnitzel and service. Thank you so much for visiting us all the way from The Netherlands and we hope your travels bring you back soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldhaus Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Waldhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldhaus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.