We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Schitzel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhaus Restaurant

Waldhaus Restaurant
Fairmont Banff Springs | Separate Location From Banff Springs Hotel, Off Property, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J4, Canada (Formerly Waldhaus Pub)
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 127 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $22 - $44
Cuisines: European, German, Swiss, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray rivers, you will find our Bavarian cottage-style Waldhaus Restaurant. Feast on a hearty menu featuring authentic Alpine cuisine, including Schnitzel and Fondue, in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage. Dark wood paneling, a large fireplace, and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection, set the tone for a memorable dining experience in our "House in the Forest".
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Perfect Schitzel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Enjoyed a excellent meal in this hotel restaurant. Service is good, cocktails can take a while as they are claimed to come from the hotel bar some distance away. A place I'm likely to return to for another meal in Banff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience in the Waldhaus. We are so glad you enjoyed the Schnitzel and service. Thank you so much for visiting us all the way from The Netherlands and we hope your travels bring you back soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    48
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral UK
Top Contributor
484 reviews 484 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 255 cities Reviews in 255 cities
389 helpful votes 389 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, superb setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hidden away in the lower grounds of the Fairmont Springs hotel and near to the Bow River Falls. A superb location overlooking the Spray river, mountains and lovely golf course (it looks onto the 15th tee and fairway). We had lunch on the lovely balcony. A fab place to sit and have lunch in the sunshine. I had a burger & Barb a mushroom wrap. $60 with tip and a beer each. Superb. You could eat anything here, as the location is superb on it's own.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderfule comments! The Waldhaus is a hidden gem of our Hotel and we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you again and we hope you visit us again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Ct.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Wonderful German food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Waldhous Restaurant is part of the Banff Springs Hotel complex, but it occupies a separate 1920’s Bavarian style lodge in the woods below the hotel. The main floor dining room is decorated as a grand European hunting lodge. There is a separate pub on the lower level. The menu offers mostly German entrees or local meats and fishes prepared in a German or Swiss style. My wife and I both had the jaeger schnitzel, which is similar to the traditional wiener schnitzel but enhanced with wild mushrooms, raclette cheese, spatzle, and veal jus. An excellent dish. My wife preceded her entrée with escargots which were done in a stronger, tangier sauce than in the normal French treatment. My starter was an onion soup that was rich, dark, and flavored with cognac. I accompanied my meal with one of their excellent German pilsners while my wife stayed with a glass of Bordeaux.

I am just sorry that we did not have an opportunity to return to try some of the other dishes

If you are not a hotel guest, the easiest access is to turn left just before the hotel and go down to the Bow Falls parking lot. A well-marked staircase leads up to the restaurant from one end of the lot while a sloping drive leads to the restaurant from the other end of the lot. Be sure to bring a small flashlight with you to find your way back after dark.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding the Waldhaus Pub and Dining Room. Receiving positive comments from our guests is very motivating and we do appreciate it. Thank you again and we hope you visit soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Both my husband's entree and mine were tough. He had wiener schnitzel which was full of sinews and I had venison, which while tasty was tough. As we were leaving I heard another waitress apologizing to a couple for their meat being tough and they had a different entree.
On the good side the onion soup was very good with a hearty beef broth; the apple strudel and fruit plate were very nice desserts. And service was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and honest feedback regarding your dining experience. We do apologize that your meal was not up to standards. Your comments have been passed on to our Culinary Team for their consideration. We are always comitted to excellence and will work hard to improve our offerings for our guests. Thank you again and we hope to see you back again soon!

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

The food was good but I expect something really special for the price we paid and that was not the case. The service was impeccable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontMTNResorts, Manager at Waldhaus Restaurant, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your Trip Advisor Review and for your honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that your recent trip did not meet up to your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with the culinary and management teams. We hope that you enjoyed your trip and we will use your comments constructively.

Jessica P.
Fairmont Banff Springs Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldhaus Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Waldhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldhaus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.