We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great patio and view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhaus Restaurant

Waldhaus Restaurant
Fairmont Banff Springs | Separate Location From Banff Springs Hotel, Off Property, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J4, Canada (Formerly Waldhaus Pub)
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 131 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $36
Cuisines: German, Swiss, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray rivers, you will find our Bavarian cottage-style Waldhaus Restaurant. Feast on a hearty menu featuring authentic Alpine cuisine, including Schnitzel and Fondue, in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage. Dark wood paneling, a large fireplace, and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection, set the tone for a memorable dining experience in our "House in the Forest".
Hawkesbury, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great patio and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We ate here a few times during our stay at the Banff Spring hotel and almost all the meals were great. I know it comes to personal taste but the nachos were the best I have ever had and there was toppings for almost all the corn chips that for other nacho lovers out there will certainly understand is usually a problem, great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Errington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“#1 Nachos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are a fan of Nachos, you will not find any better than here. My wife and two teenage kids were enjoying a quiet refreshments on the outside terrace and decided a plate of Nachos would be great. The huge tray that arrived was PILED with Nachos, melted cheese, onions, and even corn and beans. And the toppings weren't just thrown on the top of a pile of chips, they were obviously lovingly folded into layers all throughout the Nachos. You could almost pick the whole pile up held together with the melted cheese. MMMmmmm! Served up with Guacamole, Sour Cream, and Salsa. We had a hard time finishing it all. Only criticism, the Dips were not enough for the sizeof the Nacho plate, and it was $2.50 for more. The Nachos themselves cost $18. Please give us some more Dip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnHildebrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun to have a couple of beers and play pool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Has its own building separate from the hotel. Solid food. Good place to catch some hockey, shoot some pool and have a drink!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bsherdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pub Food of Higher Quality but not really better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Pub review :
Give them A for effort, but coming up short. Schnitzel was the worst we ever had. I feel bad that all the Germans and Austrians will eat this and can get better from stands at the fair. Why is it not a full piece??? When was it cooked? Did I get the fresh piece, or was it sitting for 2 hours under a heat lamp. Its not pizza by the slice. Fries were awesome.
Das Boot, is a must have. You will forget about the food! Beautiful location and love the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“European feel in the heart of the Canadian Rockies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed a beautiful dinner here in the terrace portion of the restaurant. The food was great, quite authentic, and the ambience and location amazing. If you are staying at the Banff Springs Hotel I would recommend walking down for dinner during your stay .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roland_Klein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldhaus Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Waldhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing