We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great patio and view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhaus Restaurant

Waldhaus Restaurant
Fairmont Banff Springs | Separate Location From Banff Springs Hotel, Off Property, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J4, Canada (Formerly Waldhaus Pub)
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $41
Cuisines: European, German, Swiss, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray rivers, you will find our Bavarian cottage-style Waldhaus Restaurant. Feast on a hearty menu featuring authentic Alpine cuisine, including Schnitzel and Fondue, in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage. Dark wood paneling, a large fireplace, and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection, set the tone for a memorable dining experience in our "House in the Forest".
Hawkesbury, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great patio and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We ate here a few times during our stay at the Banff Spring hotel and almost all the meals were great. I know it comes to personal taste but the nachos were the best I have ever had and there was toppings for almost all the corn chips that for other nacho lovers out there will certainly understand is usually a problem, great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    54
    17
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Errington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“#1 Nachos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are a fan of Nachos, you will not find any better than here. My wife and two teenage kids were enjoying a quiet refreshments on the outside terrace and decided a plate of Nachos would be great. The huge tray that arrived was PILED with Nachos, melted cheese, onions, and even corn and beans. And the toppings weren't just thrown on the top of a pile of chips, they were obviously lovingly folded into layers all throughout the Nachos. You could almost pick the whole pile up held together with the melted cheese. MMMmmmm! Served up with Guacamole, Sour Cream, and Salsa. We had a hard time finishing it all. Only criticism, the Dips were not enough for the sizeof the Nacho plate, and it was $2.50 for more. The Nachos themselves cost $18. Please give us some more Dip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fun to have a couple of beers and play pool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Has its own building separate from the hotel. Solid food. Good place to catch some hockey, shoot some pool and have a drink!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pub Food of Higher Quality but not really better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Pub review :
Give them A for effort, but coming up short. Schnitzel was the worst we ever had. I feel bad that all the Germans and Austrians will eat this and can get better from stands at the fair. Why is it not a full piece??? When was it cooked? Did I get the fresh piece, or was it sitting for 2 hours under a heat lamp. Its not pizza by the slice. Fries were awesome.
Das Boot, is a must have. You will forget about the food! Beautiful location and love the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“European feel in the heart of the Canadian Rockies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed a beautiful dinner here in the terrace portion of the restaurant. The food was great, quite authentic, and the ambience and location amazing. If you are staying at the Banff Springs Hotel I would recommend walking down for dinner during your stay .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldhaus Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Waldhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldhaus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.