We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European feel in the heart of the Canadian Rockies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhaus Restaurant

Waldhaus Restaurant
405 Spray Avenue | Seperate location from Banff Springs Hotel, off property., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J4 , Canada (Formerly Waldhaus Pub)
1 (403) 762-6860
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $23 - $46
Cuisines: European, German, Swiss, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Where the Spray River meets the 15th tee, you will find the Waldhaus Restaurant, our “House in the Forest”. Feast on a rich assortment of authentic Alpine dishes in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage with dark, rich wood paneling, a large fireplace and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection.The Waldhaus Restaurant has recently completed renovations.The Waldhaus is open daily from 6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.**Hours of operation are subject to change. Please call ahead.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“European feel in the heart of the Canadian Rockies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a beautiful dinner here in the terrace portion of the restaurant. The food was great, quite authentic, and the ambience and location amazing. If you are staying at the Banff Springs Hotel I would recommend walking down for dinner during your stay .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    57
    33
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great atmosphere and great food. It has a historical touch like most of the hotel. It is a great place to eat while at the Banff Springs

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great dining in a truly beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Been to Banff and the Springs many times and finally got a chance to dine at the Waldhaus. If only i figured this out 25 yrs ago!
We went to the PUB in the basement for some pre dinner cocktails. Wasn't very busy for a Saturday night in the summer. Guess everybody else was at one of the four weddings going on at the hotel. Upstairs for dinner was full. Reservations definitely required.
Most of the tables have great views which is really what this place in know for. Overlooking the Bow River, Golf Course (15th tee? is right off the patio) and in the shadow of the Banff Springs hotel towering high above.
We both had the traditional "Jagr Schnitzel" was perfect size and prepared in the traditional style.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“RELAXING IN TUDOR STYLE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

It was the only rainy day that we had during 6 weeks in Canada and Alaska so decided to visit the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel. A lovely building, love the stone and would have had lunch there if it had not been for the slack service in one of their restaurants. we then saw a sign to the Waldhaus Pub which was out the back and down a flight of steps to the golf club area and when we saw it we were rapt. A lovely ole Tudor style building which we are great fans of. It was like walking into an old English pub , Very comfortable with a touch of elegance. We had a lovely lunch, the salads were first class. Service was prompt and friendly. The place looks over the Bow River,very secluded and would be a great spot to go after a round of the golf club there. You have to walk back up the flight of steps back to the hotel but that is not too hard. A great little pub if you want to get away from the busy hotel for awhile. Give it a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Do you fondue?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I did and thoroughly enjoyed it. Splendid little walk from the hotel to the restaurant. Stunning views, excellent wine list with very knowledgeable staff about the wines. Recommend taking the shuttle back, as it is a steep trek back, especially if the path is snowy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldhaus Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Waldhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldhaus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Waldhaus Restaurant to your Saves list