We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good relaxed option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhaus Restaurant

Waldhaus Restaurant
Fairmont Banff Springs | Separate Location From Banff Springs Hotel, Off Property, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J4 , Canada (Formerly Waldhaus Pub)
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $23 - $46
Cuisines: European, German, Swiss, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray rivers, you will find our Bavarian cottage-style Waldhaus Restaurant. Feast on a hearty menu featuring authentic Alpine cuisine, including Schnitzel and Fondue, in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage. Dark wood paneling, a large fireplace, and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection, set the tone for a memorable dining experience in our "House in the Forest".
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good relaxed option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

In a hotel with a lot of formal dining options, the Waldhaus Pub offers a nice relaxed alternative. It's not cheap, but the food is excellent. My wife loved the fondue and I had the burger. Both were great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    45
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Much more than a pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The Waldhaus is actually a fine dining restaurant upstairs and a German type pub downstairs. It is attached to or a part of the Banff Springs hotel
All I can say is that the escargot and the venison were as good as any I have ever had any where and the service was excellent

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“smelled horrible and bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

It should be a great place to have a drink and a meal while watching the several tv's. Instead it smelled horrible and the food was terrible. Left after dinner because of the smell.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“An Annual Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Before moving away from Banff I visited here every year for my Birthday. The Beef and Chocolate Fondue is amazing...The Beef Fondue is thinly sliced and then you cook it in a broth. It comes with some fresh veggies and delicious dipping sauce. The Chocolate Fondue...well it is chocolate, need I say more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sports bar with Bavarian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice german beers, original but fatty food. We had schnitzel and bratwurst, with potato salad. Room surrounded by large and loud TV screens. Expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldhaus Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Waldhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldhaus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.