We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware of the tip regulations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhaus Restaurant

Waldhaus Restaurant
Fairmont Banff Springs | Separate Location From Banff Springs Hotel, Off Property, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J4 , Canada (Formerly Waldhaus Pub)
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $23 - $47
Cuisines: European, German, Swiss, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray rivers, you will find our Bavarian cottage-style Waldhaus Restaurant. Feast on a hearty menu featuring authentic Alpine cuisine, including Schnitzel and Fondue, in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage. Dark wood paneling, a large fireplace, and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection, set the tone for a memorable dining experience in our "House in the Forest".
Williams Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Be aware of the tip regulations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The food was excellent, the service really good, until we got handed our bill and found an added 18% gratuity, because we were a table of more than six people. I take great offense to that, I'd like to tip as I see fit. We might have given 20%, but were so taken aback, that we almost asked the server to remove the 18%.
I don't see the reasoning for this 18%. What is the difference, whether or not a server serves six tables with 2 people, versus one with 12?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    65
    40
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We did not dislike a thing about this place. The service was amazing, the food and atmosphere even better!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carstairs, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stopped at the concierge desk at the Banff Hot Springs for a good restaurant, they directed us down the 92 stairs to the Waldhaus where we had an excellent evening. We were looking for an experience meal and this was it. We enjoyed the fondue meal, starting with cheese, moving to beef, and on to the chocolate for dessert (had to have a second bowl of fruit to finish it off). Lots of food, incredible service wonderful atmosphere!! Our server Mike in his nickers topped off the evening with his great service!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pre Christmas treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

On our visit to Banff for Christmas 2012, we discovered to our delight the Waldhaus restaurant, nestled at the foot of the Banff Springs Hotel overlooking Bow Falls. This is a lovely old building going back to the 1920's created out of brick and wood. It reminded me of being in Bavaria.
We had a window seat with a great view of the Rockies and surrounding woods. This was the first time in a number of years that this restaurant/pub was open in the winter time. We enjoyed casual but delightful food. My daughter mentioned that the French onion soup was the best she's ever tasted. I had a hot pretzel prepared just for me with all the right spices. Our server Steve was great and gave us just the right attention. The place was full of cheerful clientele, we were all in a pre-christmas mood and hope to return soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Try The Boot if you dare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Apparently you can drink from The Boot - it's about 2 litres of beer. My husband loved it but can't remember much afterwards.
Must have been great!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldhaus Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park

Been to Waldhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldhaus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.