We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhaus Restaurant

Waldhaus Restaurant
Fairmont Banff Springs | Separate Location From Banff Springs Hotel, Off Property, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J4 , Canada (Formerly Waldhaus Pub)
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 123 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $23 - $46
Cuisines: European, German, Swiss, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff. Fare is $2.00 per person. The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m. See the concierge desk for a town bus schedules which are subject to change without notice.
Description: Nestled in the woods above the Bow and Spray rivers, you will find our Bavarian cottage-style Waldhaus Restaurant. Feast on a hearty menu featuring authentic Alpine cuisine, including Schnitzel and Fondue, in an atmosphere reminiscent of an old hunting cottage. Dark wood paneling, a large fireplace, and a beautiful wine cabinet housing an excellent wine selection, set the tone for a memorable dining experience in our "House in the Forest".
Louisiana
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Good food and good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We took the night to eat at the pub and were very pleased with the food. We had a couple of German draft beers that was good. Overall a relaxing environment for a nice night.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    66
    41
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“German/Swiss menu, expensive restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The restaurant is not close to Banff township.This restaurant belongs to the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel and is down near the Banff golf course..
The restaurant had a reasonable choice on the menu with the emphasis on German/Swiss food, so some of the food was pretty rich with lots of cheese.
Service was prompt and pleasant. Prices were very high, especially for wine, however I guess this is what you should expect when you stay at a Fairmont property.
At least if you are a guest at the hotel there is a shuttle service to and from the restaurant

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Costly but quality of both food and wine selection was excellent.
It is located outside the hotel and can be difficult to find.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandra
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I don't want 2 say it but worst meal in Canada”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Was looking forward to eating there but for 160 dollars for two was awful we had the fondue which my wife and I didn't like not the restaurants fault it was just a very overpowering white wine taste in the cheese . Next was the main course my wife had the pot roast which was over cooked and I had the barverian plate it was all over cooked bratwurst tasted worse than a Walmart banger and to top it off the service was terrible at the end of the meal I asked the server what time are the shuttles back to the hotel the reply I got was who knows he's never on time anyway I was shocked the rest of the hotel in my opinion puts so much hard work into putting the guest first and for it to be soured buy this gentleman and food is a shame. Would stay at they hotel any day of the week but would never eat here again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Authentic food but restaurant lacked atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The night we visited there were only two other tables occupied and as it is quite a big place this had an impact on the atmosphere. My German wife had Sauerbraten which she thought was very good and I had Veal Zurichoise which was very rich but tasty with the Rosti. It is pricey but probably to be expected. Our waitress was friendly enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldhaus Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Waldhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldhaus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.