We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROCKY GARDEN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cascade Gardens

Cascade Gardens
101 Mountain Avenue | behind Administration Building, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #12 of 32 attractions in Banff
Attraction Details
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“ROCKY GARDEN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Well worth a visit while in Banff , we spent an enjoyable couple of hours there wandering around admiring all the stone work and thinking of the people who built it all . Met a few of the staff there who were busy doing the spring planting, [all girls] they were just finishing planting 50,000 flower plants which must look amazing in full bloom. It is a shame their summer season is soo short considerating all the work they put into it. It was interesting getting the history of the gardens from them. The place was a government project in the depression to give the unemployed work and they did a great job. There are lots of stone pools that the water used to flow down through and lovely stone flower beds. Nice places to sit under gazebos and enjoy the peacefull surrounds. The water does not flow any more as there has been trouble with the ponds foundations and the water seeps away causing problems further down the gardens. Apparently the project was never finished , when the cost reached $50,000 it was cancelled as there was no more Government money available. A shame. The Gardens also houses a magnificent stone building built on the old Baronial Style of England . The National Parks have offices in their now. When you look from the main entrance of the gardens you look straight down the main road of Banff with the mountains beyond. A great spot for a photo.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I'm glad I finally found this spot -I've been to Banff many times and never stopped here.

There are beautiful flowers and gazebos. Lots of places for great photos :-)

There is no admission fee and lots of green space to have a picnic.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I like gardens in general. Cascade gardens are small, but very nice. And there is not entrance fee, i.e. it's free. Despite the cold weather we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not Your Typical Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stumbled on this by accident. It is totally worth going out of your way to see. It is not simply a garden with numerous gorgeous flower beds. It also has little rock bridges and paths and little wooden gazebos and benches. It is a delight. My husband is not one to be dragged to too many gardens and he was as delighted with this as I was.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Top Contributor
907 reviews 907 reviews
637 attraction reviews
Reviews in 252 cities Reviews in 252 cities
589 helpful votes 589 helpful votes
“Someone needs to fix the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a beautiful garden that does cascade down the hills. It is a miracle that it has survived over the years. The ponds are dry due to leaks and need a benefactor to step up and offer a "challenge grant" to repair them. Water would add so much to the garden complex and move it from a 4 to a 5. The flowers were in bloom and the opportunity for pictures is everywhere. No fee, so a family can enjoy a visit here and then a picnic on the grounds. With everything so expensive in Banff it is nice to see a few things people can enjoy for free. We combined this visit with Bow Falls and Surprise Corner and lunch at the Banff Springs Hotel. easy access and parking. Easy to find as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascade Gardens also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Cascade Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascade Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.