We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience with a Fantastic View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Banff Centre

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Banff Centre
Save
You added The Banff Centre to your Saves list
107 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Crescent Beach, B.C.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience with a Fantastic View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

With organizers from across Canada, I attended a writers' conference at the Banff Centre and stayed onsite. The rooms were most comfortable and clean. Meals served buffet style were varied and excellent. Conference rooms, equipment and all facilities first class. From being greeted at the front desk upon arrival to warm friendly staff throughout, our stay was amazing.I'd highly recommend The Banff Centre to artists, musicians and creative groups of every ilk.
On site facilities such as world-class library, sports and aquatic centre, hiking trails and, of course, skiing, are all at hand.

Room Tip: Everything at night was absolutely peaceful. Even during the day, peace reigned throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimOlver, Guest Relations Manager at The Banff Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Mr. Nuttal-Smith, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences at The Banff Centre on Trip Advisor! I have shared your comments with our service team. Please come back soon!
Jim Olver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    47
    8
    12
    5
See reviews for
11
30
5
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I attended a conference at the Banff Centre and stayed onsite. The conference was housed in the Kinnear Centre and was fantastic. I stayed in a building where the rooms are a little more austere, but this was reflected in the price. What was lacking in my room paled in comparison to the beautiful surroundings. I watched some deer eating clover just outside my window. Also, you are in walking/hiking distance to the downtown (it is a bit of a slope).

The conference happened during the floods of 2013. I have to give a big shout-out to Jim Oliver and his team for taking care of many different groups during this time of uncertainty. He personally gave us updates regarding road closures and showed genuine concern for our safety. Jim is a real treasure!

If anything, it was a real pleasure to be stranded in Banff with such nice people.

Thanks guys.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimOlver, Guest Relations Manager at The Banff Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Brad I must thank you for sharing your experiences here at The Banff Centre during the June Floods of 2013. I look forward to your return during less dramatic times! Please call upon me during your next visit.
Jim Olver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed in Lloyd Hall for a writing residency and was very pleased with the accommodation: very clean and comfortable. Breakfast at Vistas is not to be missed (they make the best scrambled eggs on the planet - I don't know what their secret is, but I've never had eggs so good). It's lovely to be in such a great environment. The staff are friendly and helpful, and really make you feel welcome. If Jim Olver is around, make sure you meet him. He's Mr. Banff! Knows so much about the history of the town and the Banff Centre and can also tell you all the mountain peak names and their geology.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimOlver, Guest Relations Manager at The Banff Centre, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for reporting on the inspiring residency for your writing at The Banff Centre. We appreciate your comments which inspire our staff - especially the Chef - to continue your good work. I would love to meet you on your next visit!
Jim Olver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed in this property this past weekend in # 225. Upon arrival the guest service agent wasn't much delighted nor enthusiastic to check us in. Kelsey or whatever her name was, had this "I don't care a ummph" kinda attitude, the same where the agents in those car rentals have. Need to brush up with your skills lady! Upon entering the room we noticed it was a fairly clean. However, no air conditioning unit in the room. Guest have to use tower fan to blow cold air during summer or leave windows open when it gets excessively hot! We also noticed there were no wall outlets by the bed to charge your electric devices. Kinda pain to find one in the far corner or one below the table where the TV is. The bathroom had no exhaust fan and was very awkward when our family members used it but couldn't vent out the heat or odors! Other services were exceptional like the wireless internet which I noticed was super fast. Overall an ok hotel for the bucks you pay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimOlver, Guest Relations Manager at The Banff Centre, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Ben Malik, thank you very much for the detailed remarks you posted about your stay at The Banff Centre. We will use your comments to help us continue to improve our facilities and guest experience. I look forward to your return! Jim OLver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
184 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had a wonderful stay in a spacious, spotless 3rd floor room with fireplace and large balcony with stunning views. All staff friendly, pleasant and efficient. Facility has elevators throughout. Free parking and Wifi which worked. Room fit-out, appearance and furnishings very attractive. Large functional bathroom with sink and separate sink and mirror outside too. Bathrobes supplied. Very comfortable bed, lounge chairs and heaps of storage. Stunningly beautiful campus grounds and location above Banff but 10 minutes walk down to the CBD. After long days out we were happy to stay in cosy room and use Room Service. The meals were excellent and very affordable. A truly unique place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimOlver, Guest Relations Manager at The Banff Centre, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at The Banff Centre. I appreciate your feedback and that you were delighted with your stay. I look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just returned from a stay at Lloyd Hall at the Banff Conference Centre in Alberta. Lloyd Hall has its original decor from way back when and many of its rooms back onto a loading dock with trucks arriving to unload their goods starting at 6:30am every day. Beep, beep, beep is not how I had anticipated waking up in the mountains! Unless you are a conference delegate, good luck trying to eat at one of the restaurants. Spouses are not accommodated. I stayed here with my husband for seven days and not once could I get a seat at Vista, before or after attendees. Breakfast also wraps up before 10am on Saturdays. Grocery shop before you come up the mountain! The rooms have old but comfy beds and pillows, older tvs and mini refrigerators, and a table and chairs. Each room has its own thermostat and a sliding patio door. Towels are on short supply in the bathrooms but extras will come upon request. There is also a coffee/tea maker in the room. Housekeeping starts knocking on doors between 8-9am as well. Overall, the accommodations are old and worn but still functioning. It reminded me of a hostel actually.
I have stayed at the BCC before but have always stayed at the main conference centre building and the accommodation is much better although I would obviously have had the same meal issues while staying there this past week.

Room Tip: Bring your own food if you are not attending a conference as they may not have room for you in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimOlver, Guest Relations Manager at The Banff Centre, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay at The Banff Centre. We appreciate your specific feedback! I am pleased to say that we are in the midst of a major refurbishment of public spaces in Lloyd Hall. I look forward to your return to the Rocky Mountains
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The first time I stayed at the Banff Centre was in 1999. I was attending a conference, and every attendees liked it so much that the annual North America conference came back in 2004 and this year 2013. The Centre is a beautiful campus with several buildings on a hill, and the view of the mountains is simply majestic. It is 10 minutes walk to downtown Banff. The Centre is really a school ("incubator") of arts and music (short-term workshops), so the accommodation is like an upscale and comfortable dormitory with own bathroom but dated furniture and TV (hence 4, not 5, stars). The room is spacious, however. I stayed in Lloyd Hall, which is slightly cheaper than the Professional Development Center. The rate is comparable to that of the Best Western in Banff. The Centre offers complimentary access to a large and up-to-date fitness center and swimming pool. I like the fact that the housekeeping does not change towels every day, unlike some hotels I stayed where towels were changed everyday even though the hotel had a "green" policy. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall, I had a wonderful experience, and I'll come back again.

Room Tip: Because the building (Lloyd Hall) is on a hill, the third floor is ground floor on one side of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimOlver, Guest Relations Manager at The Banff Centre, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments regarding your latest stay at The Banff Centre. I look forward to meeting you when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.9 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 942 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
1.0 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banff Centre

Address: 107 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Centre, a globally respected institute for advanced training in the arts and leadership, located in the vibrant mountain destination of Banff, Alberta in the Canadian Rockies, offers professional conference facilities and services for groups of up to 1,000 delegates. The Centre is a renowned site for Canadian and international business, government, research, scientific, and educational meetings. The Banff Centre’s inspirational setting and creative, educational environment provide the essential framework for productive learning and engagement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banff Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.