We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I have stayed in banff.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Banff Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Banff Centre
Save Saved
You added The Banff Centre to your Saves list
107 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty lodging in Banff
Calgary Alberta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worst place I have stayed in banff.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Lloyd Hall for a conference. Room has no air condition, vey basic accommodations, you can feel every spring in the bed, hangers have nails sticking out that snagged some clothes, beautiful view of a dumpster and parking lot. Duct tape keeping the carpet down in several locations.
Work booked me here for the conference and would never stay here if given the choice. I stayed in the main building last year and the difference was black and white. The main building has king size beds flat screen Tvs and feels modern this building not so much. There is a nice smell of musk and age in the halls that made for a riveting experience. Tried to move rooms but nothing available. Wanted to cancel when I saw the room but the 48 hour cancellation policy was not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
8
3
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thorold, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was very impressed by the location (of course) but also by the service at the Banff Centre. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a problem with my phone and it was resolved quickly. You have food options at the centre if you do not want to walk to town. The walk is only 10 minutes through a trail. The website was not clear about this but I found out that being a guest gives you free access to the fitness centre which is very well equipped.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponoka
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. The conference facilities are good, the hotel is ok. nothing too special. There is wireless internet and it is very fast. The view here is spectacular.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed in one of the newer rooms in the PDC. Great room, layout and also couldn't beat the view. Bit of a walk for breakfast, but that was my own fault for getting up late. But, how do you complain when your looking at Tunnel Mountain in front of you. Rooms were very clean and very nicely appointed, nice amenities. It really is a hidden gem while in Banff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was there for a conference.
Very good food and a very nice room.
I stayed for 2 nights and I felt very comfortable.
The view up there is amazing! You can eat seeing the mountains...it's very beautiful!
I would recommend to anyone...

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed again this New Year's at the Professional Development Centre at the Banff Centre. Have stayed here many times and find this the best value for dollar in Banff. Not in the town centre, we like it because it is a little off the beaten track and consequently quiet. You need a car if you stay here, even though it is less than a 5 minute drive to the centre of Banff. The staff is efficient, friendly and helpful. The rooms are not exceptional and are a tiny bit worn, although I understand they are slowly renovating all the rooms. They are, however, clean and perfectly acceptable by any standard.

Room Tip: The executive king suite is a bit overpriced at $215/nt but after renovations are done, it will be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Back to basics - a very small clean room, but with the little extras that you get at a chain hotel - lotion, shampoo etc. The beds were twins (pulled apart from a King) and were very comfortable. The locale is stupendous - the hotel (lodge) is in an isolated woodsy area above the town of Banff. I would definitely stay here again - in the summer when several hikes a day would build up your appetite! We only tried the expensive Three Ravens restaurant that I will review separately, but there are other dining options so that you don't have to go "down the hill" to eat. We also had a tiny fridge that held our breakfast items.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the elevators as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Banff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banff Centre

Address: 107 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty lodging in Banff
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Centre, a globally respected institute for advanced training in the arts and leadership, located in the vibrant mountain destination of Banff, Alberta in the Canadian Rockies, offers professional conference facilities and services for groups of up to 1,000 delegates. The Centre is a renowned site for Canadian and international business, government, research, scientific, and educational meetings. The Banff Centre’s inspirational setting and creative, educational environment provide the essential framework for productive learning and engagement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banff Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.