We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views in Non-Smoking Conference Facility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Banff Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Banff Centre
107 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty lodging in Banff
Alberta
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views in Non-Smoking Conference Facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

For location alone this Conference Facility checks all the right boxes. Plenty of activities available on the property to allow for diversions between meeting times. We stayed in the main lodge and the room size was more than ample - beds were very comfortable. Conference rooms with views of the Banff Valley are unparalleled. Breakfast offered a great selection but was pricey.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
7
3
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was schedule to stay at the centre for 3 days to attend a conference, but had to change to 1 night at the last minute due to business meetings. The booking staff were very helpful and there was no problem. As another reviewer has mentioned, there is a bit of a dormitory feel in the hallways, but this was fine in the setting as a conference hotel for large groups. Once inside, the room was spacious, clean and of good standard. Good bathroom facilities, clean and comfy beds, and wonderful to be able to open the windows. What great window mechanisms too - and complete with mosquito nets! The food was also great, especially breakfast. The only shame is that I didn't get to stay longer. Maybe next time...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived in Banff on Fri of Labor Day weekend. We spent 2 hours looking for a hotel. Finally a dear bellhop at a full hotel told us to try the Banff Centre. They had a room and it was wonderful. The halls look like a college dorm, but the room itself was great. King size bed, very nice linens, and everything we needed. We also loved the restaurant onsite and ate there for dinner on 2 nights. It's a little pricey, but everything in Banff is pricey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Overall we love this place for accommodations.
We have stayed here 3 times and each time the bed has been very, very comfortable. I love that the windows open for fresh air. Staff is always friendly and sincere. The rooms are very basic and walls are just painted white. Pictures of previous performances are hung in rooms at odd places.
A fair price for a basic room.
I would say cleanliness is between a 2 and a 3. Gave it a 3 because all the basics were clean enough. But light switches and lamp handles had fingerprints. Coffee pot tray had dirt around corners. Bathroom floor, walls and tub were a bit dirty looking. Cleaning staff really should step it up a bit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Staying at the Banff Centre for a small conference, we got a nice room in the main building where the front desk is. Strangely, the elevator near our room did not work well, and I did not like the main corridor due to a strange small, so used the stairs a lot. However the room itself was nice, in fact very large and with a view out toward the woods.
The conference facilities including food were very good. I had stayed there before and there are major changes to the buildings, the conference rooms themselves having a great view, and an even better one at the Vistas dining room. Food also excellent.
There was a minor mixup with my package which could have been averted with more preparation on the part of me or the conference organizer before I showed up. However this was fixed up rapidly after the holiday weekend by the front desk manager.
Banff in high season is not cheap so the package rates likely represent a fair value, although basically quite pricey. Comparable in terms of settings and facilities is likely Snowmass, but Banff really is an all-season resort, while Snowmass is cheaper since it really is just a ski town with low summer rates.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

At first we were placed to sleep in the building that is far off from the lobby - we had to walk outside to get to it, and it was quite outdated. Our room was absolutely freezing. We had the concierge come to try to see what was wrong with the furnace, but to no avail. He kicked the radiator and said it may help. It was already quite late at night, so when the heat did not eventually kick in, we decided to stay in bed, bundled up, thinking it wouldnt be too cold. We didnt want to go to a new room, because we knew we'd have to pack up, go outside, complain and move to a new room...We were pretty cold when we woke up.
So the next morning, we went straight to the hotel front desk, and we got a new room in the building attached to the lobby, which was great. Way more modern, and sunny, clean and warm. It was soo nice.
The food here was delicious and the trails around the centre are so nice. really a pretty place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Good rooms, AMAZING food, excellent conference facilities, friendly staff and the VIEWS can't be beat! Air conditioning could be improved but how often does Banff get up to 30 degrees Celsius for a week?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Banff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banff Centre

Address: 107 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty lodging in Banff
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Centre, a globally respected institute for advanced training in the arts and leadership, located in the vibrant mountain destination of Banff, Alberta in the Canadian Rockies, offers professional conference facilities and services for groups of up to 1,000 delegates. The Centre is a renowned site for Canadian and international business, government, research, scientific, and educational meetings. The Banff Centre’s inspirational setting and creative, educational environment provide the essential framework for productive learning and engagement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banff Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Banff Centre to your Saves list